Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Has to be 5 stars: easy to make, reliable, and extremely tasty recipe. The seasoning was fantastic (herbs de provence) on the prime roast. I actually ate the ribs after removing them (see video) and they are just fantastic. One note to share for folks trying - pay attention to the shape of the roast. If the roast is either long or tall, you will want to let it sit less time in the oven and monitor internal temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly for Christmas Eve dinner and it was PERFECT! Family loved it and everyone wanted to know how we cooked it! It's great knowing that I don't have to stand by the oven trying to get the meat done just right, one less concern! Thank you! Maggie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
1st prime rib dinner EVER, got great, today reading reviews ,yes my smoke detector went off,and yes, next time will add 5mins @ 500 degree in the time calculation, some of guests like a bit more done. But SO Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I Ruined the 2012 Christmas roast, I Vowed not to repeat my mistake. CJ's recipe Saved my roast this year! Rib eye roast is Expensive, even if you find it on sale. The key to the success is getting the roast to ROOM TEMPATURE! It helps ensure even cooking. I took my 9 lb roast out 3 hrs before I cooked it @ 500 deg. for 45 mins. DO NOT OPEN OVEN FOR 2 HRS!! Afterwards, my external thermometer read 134. I had it set for 135. This gave me leeway since the roast was a wee bit cool & pink. My hubby likes med well beef, I heated up my cast iron skillet and seared the slices for just a few seconds. PERFECTION!! I pinky swear to never cook rib roast any other way again!!Thank You Chef John, this is the Best Christmas gift Ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have tried to make a prime rib or standing rib roast about 4 times already without much success. I tried this recipe this year for Christmas and this was the first time that i can say that i was fully satisfied. I did add some seasonings to the recipe. Onion powder, garlic powder and Adobe. About half a tablespoon off each. And i used half a cup of butter because i had a larger roast. Mine was 6.73 lbs. I let it set out for about 6 hours before it went in the oven. I probably should have let it set out 7. It was well done on the outside for about half an inch. Then the entire inside was medium rare. Absolutely delicious. Thank-you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Tried this recipe for the first time for new years day dinner. Turned out perfect!! I did purchase a oven thermometer and checked the accuracy of my oven. My oven is over 23 years old and I had some concerns but to my surprise it was right on! My prime rib was 7.71 pounds so I cooked it for 40 minutes and shut it all off and continued like Chef John said for 2 more hours! Final results, perfection! I have never cooked a prime rib in the oven. I have always cooked it on my Farberware Rotisserie. I was a little concerned but everything went well. Next time though I will use the seasonings we are use to using and love some much. Instead of the Herbs de Provence I will use Quebec Steak Seasoning. That will be the only change. Once again thank you Chef John for another perfect recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbies Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I have been wanting to try making a prime rib for a long time and was skeptical about this method of cooking. I decided to give it a try today. My prime rib was 4.78 lbs and I cooked it for 25 min @ 500°, turned the oven off, and let it rest for 2 hours per the instructions. It was really hard to not open the oven, but I didn't! The roast turned out perfect, Medium Rare! It was perfect! My mother in law likes it well done, so I cut off an end piece, seared it in fry pan and then we were all happy. Thanks for the great recipe and the instructions for modifying the cook time based on weight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie
Home Town: Rockton, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used my own spice mixture but followed the cooking directions and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States