Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Ok i was a serious skeptic. My 50 dollar roast and a house full of company what could go wrong. I made the marinade from the garlic prime rib. Did exactly as this recipe said. 30 minutes for my 6 pound roast, shut off the oven and waited 2 hours wondering the whole time if it would work Without a doubt the roast was spectaclar. Beautiful crust on the outside, perfect, pink in the middle and so juicy and tender. I wont do it any other way ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I improvise the recipe a little. I added a tablespoon of mince garlic to the butter mixter and a table spoon of worcestershire. I also lower the temp after the recommened 500 degree to 250 degrees and stuck a meat thermometer in it. remove roast when it reach the desire temp. It came out perfect. I did not follow the recommened way of cooking cause the meat was cold after the two hrs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dansville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Amazing! I was skeptical but this not only was perfectly medium rare, but the flavour due to the rub and the crispy brown exterior was fabulous for presentation. Thanks, Chef John, as usual a wonderful , elegant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
PERFECTION AND SOOOOO EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammigrams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spur, Texas, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Amazing! Followed the recipe to the letter, my oven only goes to 500 degrees and I will add about 30 seconds more time per pound in the oven today when I make this for the second time. Serving with loaded baked potatoes and au jus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Om-nom-nommy and easy. This recipe is also great if you think you might lose the electricity, because it only needs those few minutes of actual energy to cook, and you can eat the beef sliced cold as well as hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommysnagpants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Chef Johh, you have a perfect formula on the cook time and minutes to rest in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Best home prepared prime rib recipe I've used. Absolutely Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great recipe. I have used it several times and it comes out great. I find that mine comes out closer to medium than a shade under medium rare by using the times listed.I may be using a thinner cut prime rib or maybe my oven thermostat is off a bit. I usually cut the time in the oven while it's off by 4-5 minutes and it works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States