Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Way too greasy! The butter definitely made too much grease. The meat was ok, not great. Won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Great. The butter puts a really nice flavorful crust on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lommen's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Carlos, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I followed the recipe to a "T" and it was great. Has anyone tried cooking a 10LB prime rib this way? just not sure it will have the same results?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Wigton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made PERFECT Prime Rib using this cooking method the very first time I ever cooked a prime rib roast. It's all about the timetable and making sure your roast is at room temperature before cooking. We seasoned it differently so you can do it as you like, just follow the cooking instructions and you'll never have a dried out roast again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Perfect cooking method, I was skeptical, but it did in fact make a perfect medium rare on a nearly 4 lb rib roast. I didn't use the herbs de provence, instead I seasoned with both a kosher salt rub and then a generous sprinkling of Montreal steak seasoning and it turned out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This is my go-to method for prime rib! I have a son with Asperger's who is very, very particular about what he will and won't eat, and he absolutely LOVES prime rib. The only thing I do different is I use 2tsp crushed garlic rather than herbes de Provence. I mix the garlic with butter and kosher salt, and spread over the roast before cooking. It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniJ3333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is the ONLY way that I will cook prime rib now. So simple and turns out perfect, just make absolutely sure that the meat is room temp before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Perfect formula! I like mine with garlic, so instead of the herbs i mix in freshly minced garlic. I have made this several times with different size roasts and it works perfectly no matter how large or small. I do recommend being sure your oven is free of any spills prior to making it. It can get smoky in the kitchen, but a small price to pay for the perfect roast. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Haselton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and it didn't taste special at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Positively delicious! I made a 12.5 LB Prime Rib Roast for my husband and sister in law's January birthdays, 2 weeks ago. It came out perfectly. From now on, I will only prepare/roast a Prime Rib via Chef John's full proof method. Definitely need a pristine oven in which to roast the meat at 500 degrees, as it does get smokey in the kitchen. The smoke readily dissipates once the oven is turned off for the Prime Rib to finish roasting for the remaining 2 hours. Thank you Chef John. CA in PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States