Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Used this method twice now, once on a very large roast and once on average size. Perfection both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was perfect. We have made this for our family Christmas dinner for a couple of years now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomNom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I've made it several times and it has come out PERFECT every time. Chef John out did himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This is a perfect recipe. My roast was almost 8# bone in....I stuck slivers of garlic in the top, rubbed it with soft butter, crushed garlic & rosemary....then topped that with kosher salt! I will never cook this any other way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Delicious and easy . . . many thanks for this great recipe which I will use now forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I have used it twice with great results. You leave it in the oven for 3 hrs after a short time cooking at high heat and cook it another 20-30 minutes after the 3 hrs depending how you like it cooked. It is fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I did everything that was told to me. step by step. time by time. I came out bloody and raw. I did the time thing and was so dissappointed. Did this for my husband for Fathers day. Really disappointed. Never again. Need to make a stew or something for the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Every time I have ever roasted anything in an oven, I have always (without fail) used a meat thermometer. I have had great success preparing prime rib in the past, and predictably have always used my trusty meat thermometer. I tried this recipe because of the rave reviews. I am now a huge fan!! This method is magic – trust it – use it. I did not use a meat thermometer and the roast was perfect. The thought of putting this kind of money in an oven with no back-up was a serious stretch for me but like I said this is magic. I always wondered how restaurants were able to prepare prime rib so consistently great all the time – now I know. I was a bit afraid of the butter because of the reported smoke issues, so I used a bit of oil with my herbs. There was still smoke (and smoke alarms). I realized I should have used the range vent on low to take care of this issue (duh) – next time I use butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I was really nervous making this. First time I tried to make prime rib a few years ago using a thermometer I ruined a 143.00 rib roast. ( over cooked) so I watched Chef Johns video and printed out the recipe and proceeded to follow it to the letter. This was AMAZING!!!! I could not believe how great this was. My mother loved it. My daughter and her fiancé really enjoyed it too. Thank you so Much Chef John you've just gotten yourself another fan. I let the roast sit out for 6 hrs as suggested. And did the math for a roast that was 9.22 lbs. the hardest part was not opening the oven door. What a great way to make the perfect rib roast.. I did pull it out 15 min earlier because it was a big roast and was afraid if the bones got to hot might over cook. It was perfect. Pink moist and delicious. Also made the beef au jus from his other video. So easy and made me feel like a culinary king.. Thanks again Chef John...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I left the 5 lb roast out for 5 hrs then prepared it just as the recipe suggested. It was delicious, but I didn't like it being room temperature when serving. Also, it would have been nice to warn us about all the smoke! For the first 35 min of the baking cycle, I had to open all exterior doors and turn on the ceiling fans to keep the smoke alarms silent. I'm a huge fan of Chef John, but I think I'll stick to my old recipe for rib roasts in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yorkiepowered

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States