Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by scrumdiddly
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
IT WAS PERFECT!!!! The 8.32 prime rib I got for Thanksgiving this year was crazy expensive, so I HAD to get it right. Chef John's equation worked perfectly. Thanks for making me love math, Chef John! We ate that thing for four days. Four heavenly days. Oh, I only had fresh thyme, not the fancy French herbs. Made a compound butter with it and it worked like a charm. A yummy, yummy, charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrumdiddly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Unreal. Spot on fool-proof method to make the best meal you'll ever eat. After I rubbed down the roast with the herbs I draped 3 or 4 pieces of bacon over the roast before I put it in the oven. Follow cooking times shown. AMAZING RESULTS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I have ruined more expensive roasts than you can imagine until I found this recipe! My family and friends beg me to serve this! It's easy, and comes out perfectly pink and moist every time. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
The best possible way to cook Prime Rib or Standing Rib Roast. I learned this technique about 40 years ago from my mother. It has been a success for her, me, and my 32 y. o. Daughter for many years and on numerous occasions. You can cook any size roast in this manner by baking it with the heat on for 5 (five) minutes per pound. Then leave the roast in the unopened oven for just 2 hours. I've cooked up to a 10 pound roast using this method. The key is definitely getting the roast up to room temperature before it's roasted. Bon apetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Hi Chef John, I followed your Prime Rib recipe to a "T" had my brother and sister-law for dinner (tough critics)and they were so impressed with my cooking skills thanks to you! I must say I'm a pretty good cook most of the time but not always confident of what I'm doing and with your help made me feel I can do this. You were right on the money! The 5lb Prime Rib(whoa expensive piece of meat didnt want to screw it up)was perfection and the Au Jus came out awesome it also was the star of the meal...all I kept hearing from my guests and my hubby was deeeeeelicious! I finished the meal off with your recipe for Pumpkin Cheesecake....it came out perfect and more rave reviews from my guests. You make things so easy to follow you are definetly my go to for recipe ideas when I need to make a tried and true and star studded meal. Love You Chef thanks so much. Oh and I love your videos your so entertaining and your voice soothing lol. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Chef John, your recipe made me a legend! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellasjules
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
The Best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I have an older oven so I kept mine in the oven about 10-15 minutes longer than expected and it was perfect. I've made it twice now and it's so delicious. Thanks so much Chef John fir another Fabulous recipe!!! Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Best prime rib we ever had! Didn't change a thing. I love Chef Johns recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I have made prime rib at home for years and impressed many of guests but it never is as perfectly cooked like this. It is foolproof!! It's beautiful. Totally amazing served with Chef John's (also seemingly foolproof) Au Jus. With all that being said and we can say it again this method of cooking is amazing......I prefer my own spices and will use them from now on but will always always always prepare it this way with homemade Au Jus. Thank you Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States