Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
So easy! Just perfect for Christmas dinner. It is completely dependent upon the quality of your roast, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULIAGULIA3
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
So easy and PERFECT in every way. Seared crust on the outside, pink juicy inside. My 12 yo daughter inhaled her slice and my husband had declared it better than any steak house we've had prime rib at in the state. Follow the directions... start with a room temp roast- I left my 5 lb boneless roast out on the counter for 5 hrs. I cooked it at 500 degrees for 27 minutes, turned off the oven for 2 hrs ( no peeking) and viola! A PERFECT delicious prime rib roast. Sorry to go on, but it was so good, so perfect, I'm slightly giddy with delight. Thank you, Chef John for a outstanding prime rib roast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
The method of cooking is by far the best for a perfectly done roast. I have been making this a number of years for Christmas dinner and always get complimented on finished - rare on the inside and done on the outside - roast. The herbes de provence adds a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I do this every year and it is perfect every year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Unbelievable! Worked like a charm. You gotta have faith and not open that oven door to check as much as you might want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boyd A Reid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Hands down, the best way to cook a prime rib. I too was real nervous the first time, but the moment you slice into perfect prime rib, you will be sold! I have an older oven, and understand what Chef John is trying to tell us. Having said that, I have been cooking long enough with that particular oven, that I am confident in where to set the dial. What I also do is to throw the self-cleaning lock lever. I find that not only reminds me not to peek, but also keeps a tight seal on the door! Thanks again, Chef John, for another amazing recipe and technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriBoy Chicago

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pacheco, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I used A LOT more seasoningand probably mixed about 4 tablespoons of butter with about 5 or 6 tablespoons of herbs. There is so much meat I personally feel that it needs a lot of seasoning and that way the drippings become very flavorful too. Put lots of salt on! I used garlic salt. Chef John's timing calculation is FLAWLESS. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I didn't use the seasoning in this recipe but I did use the cooking method and it was spot on! Thanks so much for another awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
We followed the recipe to the T and it was amazing - thanks so much Chef John . . . the fam just loved it. will make again. btw : we love watching your recipes and we love cayenne pepper too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa
Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maddog1989
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Great. First time, it came out perfect. My husband LOVED it. The follow up video for the au jus was so helpful. I added garlic porder to my mixture ofor herbs. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States