Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used my own spice mixture but followed the cooking directions and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I have cooked a lot of prime ribs, this is by far the easiest way in the oven. Tryed for the first time New Years day for the family and friends, did two at the same time, 1-8lbs, and 1-3lbs (had a few people add on for dinner at the last min. Put the 8 in at 525 for 40 min. and the put the 3 in with 17 min. to go then turned off the oven for the two hours......Perfect! Thanks, have a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
It was so easy & perfectly cooked. Made no alterations but one could use any spice combination. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Like Chef John said, "YOU HAVE TO HAVE A GOOD OVEN." If you have a cheap oven or convection oven, this x5 technique will not work for you. Ovens heat up and then turn off over and over again to maintain the average temperature that you have set. Cheaper ovens do this more violently than others and may not be able to hold in the heat and convection ovens move air around to make the oven even hotter. You'll have to find another technique or roast it the old fashioned way. Hot at first to seal the meat and then low and slow to cook to TEMPERATURE, not time. Also, I would recommend this technique for smaller roasts (2-4 bones), I have NOT attempted this technique on a whole roast. I have cooked prime rib this way for many years, but I always keep a meat thermometer stuck in it just in case and I also have an oven thermometer to make sure the oven temp is just right (when using other ovens). The salted herbs and butter make the outside taste great but the inside is all about the meat itself! Perfect pink all the time and since its been cooling down in the oven for hours, its safe enough to cut it apart without burning you. Don't throw out the drippings and burnt pieces! Try out an au jus or popovers recipe (they are easy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I really wanted to love this. I followed the recipe to the letter. Like another reviewer experienced, my smoke alarms went off which always scares all of us. (Especially the dogs with their super hearing) After 2 hours when I took it out, it was way, WAY too rare. The only part that was cooked was the outside of it. It also still had that wiggly consistency. Had to cook it again the next day. Was really awful, and we both like rare-ish roast beef! Will never make this recipe again. Sorry Chef. Just wasn't edible to us and creeped me out looking at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was my very first attempt at making Prime Rib Roast and it turned out perfectly using this method! I did use my own dry rub, but I followed the method exactly and all my guests absolutely loved it! Thank you so much! Yvette Luke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Thank you, Chef John for helping me put the most perfect prime rib on our Christmas table! Our roast was almost 8lbs, 4 ribs and following your directions to the letter, it was the scrumptious centerpiece of the meal. The butter, herbs de provence, salt and pepper formed a beautifully scented crust; the interior was dark pink and juicey. Thank you for giving me the confidence to roast an expensive cut of beef to fine dining quality! My family and friends are impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe on Xmas Day after I read a dozen interviews so I made a couple of adjustments. First, I did leave my roast out of the refrig for 6 hours before I cooked it. Take your roast out at 9:30AM, wait 6 hours. I started cooking at 4PM for a 7 lb 1 oz roast (bone in) that I ran longer than the prescribed time. The calculation would have dictated 35 minutes at 500 degrees, I added 4 minutes for a total of 39 minutes and it came out a PERFECT MEDIUM (hot pink, very slight red center, with the outside being close to well done but nice and crisp). Roast was on the table at 6:45PM. During the afternoon I prepped the rest of my meal easily. For me, I am going to use a different recipe in the future since my family is not a rare meat (red center) group - 5 minutes for each pound of meat up to 4 lbs (original recipe) and then add 80 seconds for each pound over 4 lbs to get the 39 minutes for a 7 lb roast. This timing got me the hot pink/slight red center for families that want to avoid the undercooked roast. You MUST get your roast to room temperature before cooling for this timing and oven setting to work. If you don't watch the video, roast your meat "bones down" so the crust gets crispy. I hope this refinement of the recipe helps people avoid the undercooking that appears to be a regular outcome using the original time calculation. We have an electric GE oven with precise settings if that helps and had the roast dead center in the oven while it cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Wow how much easier can this be. Kept worrying about the oven being too cool inside after an hour passed but this method worked to a tee. Set it and forget it. Lol. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States