Chef John's Perfect Prime Rib Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I have made this recipe quite a few times now and it always comes out perfectly... even in my original 1960 ' s oven. I tried another recipe one time and it didn't work! These roasts are too expensive to play around with a recipe, so I just stick to this one. I also use this method when cooking other beef roasts in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Heath Wood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
This was my first time cooking prime rib and I was worried I'd mess it up. Couldn't have been happier with the way it turned out! My issue was figuring out the timing for Easter Sunday morning, as I would be gone while it cooked. My roast was 7.4 lbs. calculating a cook time of 37 min. I was going to have to have it in the oven while it preheated, since I was using the auto-cook feature on my oven. It usually takes my oven about 10 minutes to get to 500° so I set the cook feature for 500° for 45 min. The oven turned itself off and then the meat sat in there for the next 2 hours. At noon I removed it from the oven, covered it with foil, trying to keep it a bit warm, while I prepared other food. It was a beautiful medium-rare and delicious! Thank you for this fool-proof cooking method! OH! Important note on warming to room temp. This was a concern to me, as I did not want to get up in the wee hours of the morning to set it out. The night before I placed the meat in an insulated cooler bag (one that rates to keep things frozen for 5 hours) and let it sit in there all night. It was still quite cool, but not cold the next morning. The meat was then able to sit out for a couple more hours before the cooking process started. I can see how having the meat at room temp. would be key in this recipe's success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly2024

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
This was simply delicious! It was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Come out perfect EVERY. TIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
excellent, an EASY 5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhfun
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Unbelievably easy! It's tricky to have a prime rib cook correctly. This recipe removes the guesswork, and it turned out tasting similar to what is served in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Made this last night....my first ever prime rib & what a spectacular one it was!!! I also made the au jus recipe as well. So easy & oh my, SO SO GOOD!!! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Best Prime Rib I have ever made. Easy to follow directions. Had this for family party and everyone raved about it. Moist and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I'm sure this would be great but I have tried it twice and both times I had to turn the oven back on to cook the meat as it was raw inside. Perhaps my oven just doesn't hold the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Great recipe! My prime rib turned out perfect. Changed it a little on the spices and used basil and garlic salt along in mixture with the salt and pepper. Highly recommend this dish for any holiday or special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Prime Rib

A foolproof method for moist, perfectly pink prime rib with a crispy crust.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Garlic Prime Rib

See how to cook the perfect Christmas rib roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States