Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
great recipe, good suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
The potatos turn out good but next time I will try not to use too much milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I have made this simple recipe a few times and my family destroys it. I never have whole milk on hand so I mix fat free with half and half. I think the key to this is cooking it on a high light after you've drained the water. Let the heat evaporate any remaining water. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
THis recipe is amazing! I am 12 years old, and the first time i made it, my family and cousins loved it! THe ingredients check list thingy is really helpful too. I love mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I made this recipe ...... Very tasty and very easy..... I used 2 percent milk instead of whole milk..... Will make again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I love the technique to this. I was hesitant to double the potatoes, as i always have trouble mashing it, but it ended up being easy after all. Of course, season/taste as you go....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My grandmother taught me how to make mashed potatoes, and she learned from her mother, who learned from her mother.. you get the point. My family has always cubed the potatoes, not halved them, but when i tried it your way, they mashed MUCH more evenly and I didn't have those un-catchable little chunks you can never mash. Thanks Chef John, but now I'm afraid for my life! My grandma is going to whoop me for not using her recipe! Recipe was perfect, as is. Didn't tweak or alter a thing. Delicious. And nothing was left over, even though I doubled the recipe. Even my grandma had seconds of the potatoes. But she doesn't know it was her recipe, hahahaha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silverinkedwings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Absolutely delicious mashed potatoes! Followed it exactly with the exception of condensed milk instead or whole milk! Will always make them this way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I thought I made great potatoes but these are my new favorite. My family loved them and all of us had seconds and were still looking for thirds. The only thing I did differently is used 5 large red potatoes because that's what I had. Also, the recipe doesn't state how much salt to add to the water, so I added 1 Tbsp. Just another 1/2 tsp of salt and 1/4 tsp of pepper at the end and they were perfect. Thanks for the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States