Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
great! came out perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Followed the recipe as stated, made no modifications, they came out perfect! I'm a big fan of Chef John recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
When I usually make mashed potatoes I have some left for a lunch meal the next day; when made this for my family there was none left after supper! Chef John’s instructional video gives some great tips and make the difference we all tasted. I did “tweak” Chef John’s recipe ever so slightly; Chef John called for ½ cup of milk and I used 2/3 cup of milk. This seemed to make the potatoes a touch creamier. I recommend this recipe highly as does my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious! Will definitely keep as my "go to" recipe for mashed potatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Delicious! Oddly enough, I never made mashed potatoes before. This recipe was so easy to follow. I used a little bit less butter and 2% milk. Next time I'll try it with whole milk. It was great. Next time I'd love to add a bit of garlic or green onion and bacon. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agata

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
good recipe, but i really believe in heating the milk before you add it to the potatoes. but here's the kicker, if you go to watch his videos, I stumbled on his cheater pierogies and THANK YOUUUUUU for pointing out wonton wrappers. OMG you don't even know how happy you've made me. Can't wait to use your cheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forever_donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Creek, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
great recipe, good suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
The potatos turn out good but next time I will try not to use too much milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I have made this simple recipe a few times and my family destroys it. I never have whole milk on hand so I mix fat free with half and half. I think the key to this is cooking it on a high light after you've drained the water. Let the heat evaporate any remaining water. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States