Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a good basic mashed potatoes recipe. However, for proper mashed potatoes steaming instead of boiling is the way to go. It holds more flavor and your choice of the steaming solution can add even more. I steamed for 25-30 minutes using a 50/50 cooking wine/water mixture and sprinkled salt and pepper on the potatoes. After mashing, without adding anything extra, they were flavorful enough. To take it to the next level I used salt, evaporated milk, a little butter, 3 cheese blend, chopped garlic and sprinkled dill weed on top. Then threw it in a glass baking dish overnight. The next day I baked it at 300 degrees for 20 minutes covered and 5 uncovered at 30 minutes. Just make sure you add enough milk to keep them moist before baking...awesome just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I use this recipe every time I make mashed potatoes! Simple, but delicious, and I love not having to use the mixer! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
1/4 t salt & few grinds of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Dima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Just made these and this is how I'll be making mashed potatoes from now on...they were very light and fluffy, not a lump to be seen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Mezzetti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Very bland, I had to add a ton of salt and pepper, which I don't usually do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I love this easy recipe. I used 1/2 cup of canned milk instead of whole milk and WOW. my potatoes came out much creamier and a fantastic taste. So my suggestion is instead of whole milk, try can milk (evaporated milk). U will be amazed at the difference it makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe with outstanding results. Light, creamy clouds of deliciousness. Many thanks to Chef John for sharing his techniques and humorous videos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Schipperke Trainer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I've been known for my mashed potatoes as well but this recipe solves several logistical problems i.e. Cutting the chunks to equal size, not over beating. I'm impressed. I was skeptical but when he started the video recommending russets, I decided to give it a listen. Glad I did. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is the absolute best way to make the PERFECT mashed potatoes. I did a test of this recipe before the first thanksgiving I have hosted for my family. I found that using white pepper was a MUST. The only modification I made was that I put 2 cloves of garlic in the water while the potatoes boiled. Thank you chef john!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
For a really creamy experience use frothed milk from your coffee machine - we use latte style milk from our Nespresso which results in velvety smooth mash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy Knorr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States