Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was a good recipe, not sure they were perfect potatoes but they were certainly tasty. I will make again as it was simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I substituted buttermilk since I had no whole milk on hand. Also boiled the potatoes with skin on because the family likes the skin. Dee-licious, fluffy potatoes!! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Outstanding process, texture and taste!!! Awesome Chef John!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Another outstanding recipe by Chef John! I never thought I could make mashed potatoes from potatoes. Followed the directions exactly and ended up with perfectly mashed potatoes. No more boxed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mai Mao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe could be perfect if the measurement for the potatoes was given in a measurement that isn't subjective. your large may be medium or extra large to someone else, which will change the end product. It should be revised to be by weight or cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I started making mashed potatoes like this when I was a kid back in the 50s! It was the way my mother, my grandmother and my great grandmother had made them before me! As to having watery mashed potatoes, drain them properly and it won't happen! And bland? Taste them and add more salt, pepper or butter as needed! And smart cooks will save the potato water to use in their gravies as this is where all the vitamins and minerals are from the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gale Caswell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
To add a little more flavor to the mashed potatoes, instead of plain salt to season while mashing, use seasoned salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is exactly how I've made potatoes my whole life, I use more than three potatoes though because were huge mash potato family! This is a perfect classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D.
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a good basic mashed potatoes recipe. However, for proper mashed potatoes steaming instead of boiling is the way to go. It holds more flavor and your choice of the steaming solution can add even more. I steamed for 25-30 minutes using a 50/50 cooking wine/water mixture and sprinkled salt and pepper on the potatoes. After mashing, without adding anything extra, they were flavorful enough. To take it to the next level I used salt, evaporated milk, a little butter, 3 cheese blend, chopped garlic and sprinkled dill weed on top. Then threw it in a glass baking dish overnight. The next day I baked it at 300 degrees for 20 minutes covered and 5 uncovered at 30 minutes. Just make sure you add enough milk to keep them moist before baking...awesome just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I use this recipe every time I make mashed potatoes! Simple, but delicious, and I love not having to use the mixer! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States