Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Tiara Tony
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Fast, simple, tasty. I used Yukon gold potatoes and use the masher in stead of the whisk. Mashed potatoes have a few lumps by not using thevwhisk but I like my potatoes this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
While they were still hot I briefly used the stir setting of my blender instead of a potato masher. Mine were not as chunky, they were more of a smooth texture similar to instant but we loved every bite and after it sat for a bit to come back for evening seconds was even better than when they were fresh. When I get a masher I will try it the proper way but as far as I am concerned they were perfect in every way. As good as what granny used to make if not better. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Ok. I was skeptical, but I needed some "leftover" mashed potatoes for another recipe, and I had the russets (I usually use red-skin-on for my mash), so I figured I'd try this recipe. I had to watch the video to believe that you only have to cut each potato in half, but I followed the directions and ingredient amounts (except I used 2% milk, cause that's all I had). All went well, until I added the milk, and the potatoes turned soupy, and I thought "oh, NO!". This is the first time I've ever followed amounts for the butter and milk, so I just figured it was too late, so I might as well keep stirring. Well, didn't they just tighten up to the perfect consistency! I was amazed (and relieved). Mine are not completely lump-free because I was mashing in a non-stick pan (the only kind I own), so I could have mashed more vigorously, but they are probably the best "plain" mashed potatoes I've ever made. My mom always used a motorized hand mixer for mashing her potatoes, so for all I know, I grew up eating gluey potatoes. No more for me and mine. Thanks, Chef John. You made me a believer. 4/4/15 UPDATE I just made these using four Yukon golds, and they came out great with a slightly shorter cooking time (15-17 minutes). I omitted the pepper because I'm using the mash in a roll recipe, and I did an extra couple of turns with a regular dinner fork to take out the lumps (I'm still using non-stick, so I have to be careful not to scratch the finish). Thanks for the forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe is all about technique. It takes you back to the basics. Great food education. Thank You Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I've made this recipe - as is - a few times now and it is my "go to" for mashed potatoes. Perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
easy. Tastes like mashed potatoes should taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Bang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Simple and perfect. Chef John, marry me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I followed the recipe exactly, and they were not "fluffy and lump free". I ended up having to add more milk and butter than the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Perfect mashed potatoes every time.... Thanks Chef.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perrysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Thank you chef john not only for your mash potatoe recipe, but for all your recipes I watch on your channel. I love how you take the time and explain in easy detail how to cook everything. Your cooking techniques is what I've been looking for. Very easy,no fancy ingredients. Your recipes comes out perfect everytime. I look forward everyday for a new recipe from you. You're awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States