Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is the recipe I grew up with, traditionally made Irish mash. The step of returning the drained, boiled potatoes was what my Irish father called "flour-ing off" the potatoes. The residual water is steamed away leaving the potato edges with a slight look of dry flour. The centers will still be moist and the butter and milk flavors will dominate and not be diluted by that water. One difference at our house: we prefer some lumps for texture and only used a large fork to "mash" the potatoes. Thanks again as always, Chef John, for improving American home cookery one dish at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Nice Buttery simple baked potatoes. Nothing more nothing less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Fluffiest. Potatoes. EVER. I'll never use another method. I do add garlic powder to the water with salt while boiling. PURE GENIUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Thank you, Chef John! My family never liked my mashed potatoes until I tried these. I'll never go back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Prepared as directed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Loved these potatoes! The simplest recipe but always great results. I usually add some roasted minced garlic (I'll throw in a head of garlic to roast with whatever I"m cooking along with the potatoes) but that is the great thing about this recipe, it's easy and basic enough that you can add whatever you like. I've made with both skim and 2% and would recommend the 2% if you have it. One time I tried throwing in a couple of spoonfuls of cream cheese with the skim and it actually worked pretty well - but the 2% will give you better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Best mashed potatoes I've ever made! Used 1% milk as it was all I had on hand. So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
The potatoes were very good and the instructional video is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Great mashed potatos! Very simple. Used these mashed potatos with Chef John's Slow Cooker Pot Roast. Absolutely fabulous! My 14 year old who is a very picky eater, ate every bite. As always Chef John, we did Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Hubby loved this,used a little bit of sour cream and it was perfect. Creamy and delicious and the perfect mate to my meat loaf..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tenafly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cairo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States