Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Perfect tators!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Finally! I can make mashed potatoes that everyone raves about! It was great to not bring out or clean up a mixer. I needed to watch the video also, as the technique shown make a big difference. I also warmed my milk (used part 1% and part half and half). Loved the white pepper in there. Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was a good recipe, not sure they were perfect potatoes but they were certainly tasty. I will make again as it was simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I substituted buttermilk since I had no whole milk on hand. Also boiled the potatoes with skin on because the family likes the skin. Dee-licious, fluffy potatoes!! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Should have looked this up prior to holiday - potatoes were like glue :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Outstanding process, texture and taste!!! Awesome Chef John!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Another outstanding recipe by Chef John! I never thought I could make mashed potatoes from potatoes. Followed the directions exactly and ended up with perfectly mashed potatoes. No more boxed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mai Mao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe could be perfect if the measurement for the potatoes was given in a measurement that isn't subjective. your large may be medium or extra large to someone else, which will change the end product. It should be revised to be by weight or cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I started making mashed potatoes like this when I was a kid back in the 50s! It was the way my mother, my grandmother and my great grandmother had made them before me! As to having watery mashed potatoes, drain them properly and it won't happen! And bland? Taste them and add more salt, pepper or butter as needed! And smart cooks will save the potato water to use in their gravies as this is where all the vitamins and minerals are from the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
To add a little more flavor to the mashed potatoes, instead of plain salt to season while mashing, use seasoned salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States