Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I thought these were a good basic mashed potato. I had a bag of potatoes that had 5 russets in it. So, I did 50% more milk. However, I just kept the butter the same. I am glad I did, because it seemed like quite a bit a more butter, even, than I normally would use when adding it. They were still plenty buttery. I boiled my potatoes in a large wide 3" pot with a lid. I have never just cut a potato in half once and boiled. I actually think I like that method better. The potato really held together. Be careful when draining. I normally use a strainer and doing the from pot method I nearly gave myself steam burns on my hands and a free steam facial. I am not sure I recommend that method of draining. After reheating the potatoes to dry them some as suggested I had to do the mashing process in a large bowl. I unfortunately do not have a coated masher and did not want my non-stick pot getting scratched up. This recipe, overall, is a good guide for someone trying to learn to make a simple mashed potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Watch the video!!! It's really so simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I've made them this way for many years, with a few variations. Add 2 tablespoons of mayonnaise.(less whole milk) Also 1 tablespoon sour cream! Be careful when adding and blending/mashing to NOT make them to watery/whippy. Taste is outstanding! (Yes they are very fattening, but ultimate comfort food;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe for mashed potatoes. It's a simple recipe for fluffy and delicious mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
okay I know you think you know how to make potatoes but um... when you make this and follow exactly you realize you don't. Potatoes are so simple but so easy to mess up. This is how to do them right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
followed recipe exactly as written. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Awesome. Super simple and tasty. This was my first time making mashed potatoes from scratch, so thanks for the video explaining the mashing technique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Chef John thank you for this recipe. And video very helpful. 5stars I make mashed potatoes at least once a week. Always your recipe. Sometimes I add garlic to the water then mash as usual. Follow this recipe you can't go wrong. Watch the video. Helpful hints many people are saying this is bland.. Season your food to your liking. Start small. Taste. Add a little more. I always add more butter. 2% milk or some half and half. Sometimes cheese really good cheese. Whip with a good wire whisk.. Keep warm. Enjoy this recipe. Thanks chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Love this recipe. Watch the video as it'll tell you about technique which is really important. I didn't have the mentioned/preferred masher and mashing twice over was not enough, there were still some clumps. I also had a lot of potatoes so I guess you have to adjust accordingly. That said whipping them really did make them fluffy. I feel that this recipe needs a bit more in terms of flavor. You could make them garlic mashed or with sautéed onions. That's why I gave it 4 stars: a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Good recipe except I add about a Tbsp of Duke's Mayonnaise (it's a southern thing!) and my family LOVES my mashed (we actually call them creamed) potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States