Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
I used organic Yukon potatoes (as always) and kept the skins on. Cutting the potatoes in half lengthwise is really key in cooking these potatoes thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
Great and easy to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amara
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
Delicious, didn't have a potatoe masher so I just used a meat tenderizer hammer, still mashed well and I used Idaho instead of yukon. Whole family loved it and will definitely make again. Tastes great paired with chicken tenders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
Oh made these tonight. I watched the video and cut my potatoes length wise as shown in video, and I liked it, easier, and faster. This is how I shall be boiling my potatoes from now on. They were delicious. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie-0-Toole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Priceless potato advice!! I will make again. I left the peel on, didn't have salt (used garlic salt in the water) and didn't even have a masher, just used a fork, and against all odds they turned out really good. I added a little bit of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Big fan! The only real difference from what I've done before is drying out the potatoes in the pan before whipping them but that had a much bigger impact than I could have imagined. Light and fluffy. Fantastic consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Good recipe. Mild in flavor so you can dress them up however you like. Will increase the recipe next time, though. This didn't make that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
And they really are perfect! Cutting the potatoes lengthwise? Who knew? All I can say is that's it's great to see a simple, honest recipe with some great new technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niki-b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Perfect technique for perfect potatoes. I went crazy and used cream instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
OMG! This technique for making mashed potatoes is like a magic trick - abracadabra! and you have perfect mashed potatoes. So easy, too. I cannot thank you enough, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States