Chef John's Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by joannamoorhouse
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Great Recipe! I absolutely love Chef John. This was my first attempt at a pecan pie and it turned out deliciously! Will defiantly be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
This was awesome!!! My husband loves it even more frozen. I used the homemade butter flaky pie crust and it was a great addition to the Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
All I can say is, fabulous!!!! Chef John, you did your thing with this pie, it came out great!!! This will become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Wilcox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is the best pecan pie I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Oh. My. Goodness, this is a fantastic Pecan Pie. Even my husband, who doesn't like pecan pie and only tried a bite to be polite because I was so ecstatic about it, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is a hit in our house! We have made this pie 7 times for different holiday parties. If you like pumpkin pie try chef johns pumpkin pie recipe, you'll love it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cedarcreekcottage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I don't know what I did wrong, I followed the recipe but when cooled off it was very very chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Erin Travers Ross
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Amazing! Thank you chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
First off... I absolutely love Chef John, and have never gone wrong with his video recipes! So I'm a little biased.. This was the first time I had ever made a pecan pie. I followed his recipe almost exactly, and was blown away! Amazing!! My only 'issue' was something that I brought on to myself- I didn't have the pie weights that Chef John used in the video, nor did I substitute with dried beans or rice. Instead, I followed the instructions on the ready-made crust packaging, which told me to use a fork to puncture the crust prior to baking. Not good! It totally messed with the integrity of the crust, and did nothing to prevent the crust from bubbling up. Next time, I will use pie weights, or beans, or rice, or whatever! The pie didn't slice quite as nicely as Chef John's, but that could be because I didn't let it cool completely. BUT- warm, gooey Pecan Pie from the oven totally trumps proper plating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
this and all your recipe's are delicious Chef John. Tank you for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States