Chef John's Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
i am not a great baker & this recipe was easy & really good. thanks for the recipe chef john!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
The perfect cookie! Because of the proportions, this recipe can be easily memorized, and they come out absolutely delicious! A keeper for sure. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by DerAvi
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made a mistake first time around - I didn't have baking soda in hand, so I substitute it with baking powder (1/2 tsp baking soda equals to 1 1/2 tsp baking powder), but that didn't turn out well. Also You really have to let it firm in the refrigerator just as the direction says, otherwise your cookie will turn out very gooey and buttery and not really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DerAvi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Indeed this is worth the five stars. It's the same recipe I've been using for years. No matter what kind of peanutbutter you use, it always comes out great....and never subsitute the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe exact, only using super chunk peanut butter because that was all I had on hand. They turned out absolutely beautiful, just like peanut butter cookies are supposed to look. SIDE NOTE: My issue with making cookies lately is with the heat, they get.......weird, even with how fast the family can eat them. This cookie turned out perfect and it was a small enough batch that I didn't have to worry about the cookies "wilting" in the heat. My husband called me this morning and said that not only did they hold up well in Tupperware for his lunch but his co-workers liked them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
These cookies are crispy not soft, personally I like them that way. If you like soft and chewy cookies you've got the wrong recipe. But these are very quick and easy I've got nothing to improve on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thesweetestchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Simply the best cookies we have ever had!!! Loved by everyone in my family!!! Only change I made is that I used margarine instead of butter as I cannot have butter!!! Wonderful recipe! Only problem was that they didn't last long with my family! They disappreared very quickly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
MMM :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Im pretty sure this would of been so much better if i used brown sugar instead i used that sugar in the raw stuff and it wasnt as good, and i also didnt have baking soda or powder :/ i will make this again but have all the ingredients next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Though an easy recipe, the texture of the cookies was grainy, entirely too salty and sweet for my taste, and not peanut buttery enough. Edible, but not really enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States