Chef John's Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Hmm... I tried to make these with Splenda instead of sugar, and Brummel and Brown instead of butter. Also used lower fat peanut butter. Everything else was to the recipe specs. Those substitutions usually work out well for me. I didn't want a big batch, so I halved the recipe. The cookies turned out too cake-like. My fault...trying to save calories. Lesson learned. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by munchkinsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
These are great as is. The flavor is spot on and they are nice and soft. I would recommend doubling the recipe if you have teenagers though :) (If you like crispy, you can always bake an extra minute or two.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
My husband only eats these cookies and he said this was the best cookie recipe I ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
they were great very Tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
These are exactly what I want in a peanut butter cookie - chewy and crisp at the same time. I followed the recipe exactly, the need to refrigerate the dough is essential so plan ahead. Upon removing from the oven, I pressed a chocolate kiss or a M&M in the center. I can also see rolling the cookie dough ball in sugar before impressing with the fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Beard Pier
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Xcellent recipe !!! Stays crispy outside and chewy inside, even the next day !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
It was not too much peanut taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Sweeting

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
My dad who loves peanut butter cookies but never gets them at home (my mom hates peanut butter) loved these. I used an unsweetened, unsalted peanut butter because it's what I had, and I think I wouldn't do that again. They were fine, but a bit more salty sweetness would have probably gone a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
These were good, came out soft, chewy but crispy outsides. Not as much peanut butter flavour as I expected, I used all natural unsalted peanut butter. Next time I'll try adding cinnamon and extra salt to see if that enhances the flavor. But overall, a great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Penhold, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make America’s favorite cookie.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States