Chef John's Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
This was a delicious recipe! I did tweek it a bit. In place of the five spice, I used cinnamon and nutmeg, I added vanilla flavor, added 1 1/2 tbs of cornstarch to my canned peaches (used juice from peaches in place of water) and I baked for an hour...results were a juicy dessert with the perfect crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rodeecook06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by monica
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This was easy to make, delicious and beautifully puffed up. In my oven it was done after about 42min. I had to use canned peaches and pears because that's what I had on hand. The cup of sugar in the batter was a bit too sweet given the sugar in the fruit, so if I use canned fruit again, I'll reduce it to 2/3 cup. The Five-Spice powder was nice but I would have liked a little more spice. Next time I'll add cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Simple recipe and tasty cobbler! I don't have a Dutch oven but a glass dish with no kid works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I've tried this twice now, following directions and ingredients and the video perfectly. Both times the batter did not really form a crust, certainly did not crisp, and the peaches didn't really sink. The result was more of a spongy-soggy mess, neither texturally nor visually attractive. Flavor is great - I don't like five-spice powder, but it was great in this. Because of the texture, I'd rather make a plain old peach crisp (and add a little 5-spice powder) than ever make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly except omitted the chinese 5 spice powder. I used a large oval casserole dish, approximately equivalent to a 9x13 pan. I had no problems with it overflowing or being too cakey as other reviewers complained. This was absolutely delicious and looked amazing when it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Great! Used cinnamon (3/4 tsp.) and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg instead of Chinese spice. Used coconut milk instead of regular since that's what I had; added extra richness. Next time I'll cut down a little on the sugar. Not a problem with too much liquid - I just turned off the oven and let it sit a couple hours and the crust turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was easy to make. I didn't use the spice he recommended. I just used nutmeg. I would add more sugar to the water when adding peaches. That's the only thing I would change. Mine looked just like Chef John, but I didn't take a pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Forget the Chinese spice. As the others stated, mine had way too much liquid after reducing it in half. It was easy to assemble and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
AMAZING!! I have made this several times this summer and it has been a hit each time. I have made it with peaches, peaches and raspberries and with blueberries. Delicious! I have directed many, many people to this recipe as a result. I have made it in a 13 x 9 pan and that has worked well, although I have had to cook it longer. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Turned out great! Yes, there was liquid on top when I took out of oven, but the batter was cooked and the liquid thickened up to make a lovely glaze ontop. The family devoured it! I also didn't have Chinese 5 spice so used pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Peach Tartlets

See how to make an impressive but so simple fresh peach dessert.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States