Chef John's Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Simple, easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
We didn't like the Chinese five spice powder flavor. It was just an off taste to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Great flavor, but after an hour and a half on 350 degrees, there was still so much juice and uncooked batter that I had to add an oatmeal/butter/flour topping to help sop it up a bit. Like the 5 spice flavor. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Very simple and easy recipe! Only thing I did different was up the temp to 375 and bake time to 55 minutes! I knew from previous cobbler recipes I had tried that the bake time and temp may be a little off! But the final result was eXcellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Amazing. This was my first time having and making peach cobbler. Both my parents and myself loved it. Thanks John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
there was so much liquid left after it was baked that it over-flowed! either you need to add more flour to the batter or you need to cut back on the syrop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sengel007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I didn't have any Chinese 5 Spice, so I substituted Pumpkin Pie Spice and some ground chipotle. The flavors were fantastic, but there was SO much liquid in the finished product. I'll cut the simple syrup to half a cup next time, which ought to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Made it as written with an additional 1/2 t cinnamon to the peach mixture and the oven at 375 instead of 350. Mine was not runny, however I made sure to boil the peaches for a full 2 minutes at a rolling boil & that thickened them. Good taste, but I prefer a more tart cobbler and would add lemon juice or tart berries next time. The batter on this one traveled throughout & was a bit more like thick custard than the traditional cake-like dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I use a very similar recipe that I have had for years. We make this awesome cobbler every time we go camping as it is requested by our fellow campers!! Ours is cooked in a dutch oven in a hole in the ground with hot coals. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Too lemony. I can have lemons all year but fresh Ga. peaches only for a short period of time. Perfer to leave off all the spices and enjoy peaches tasting like peaches. It looked beautiful though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Peach Tartlets

See how to make an impressive but so simple fresh peach dessert.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States