Chef John's Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I made exactly as instructed and it came out perfect. It's my new favorite recipe for peach cobbler. The simplicity of ingredients allows the flavor of the fruit to come thru. The cast iron skillet is the secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Loved it!! Didn't have the spice I used cinnamon instead. I've added this to my saved recipes and I will have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
As is - just OK - ours we like much better. We make a peach cobbler with self rising flour but use old fashioned oats in place of one-third of the self rising flour. We then cut the butter in half w/out much loss. Makes more crispy. Also since one of us is allergic to dairy, we used the juice from canned peaches or similar fruit juice in place of the milk. Cut the sugar to 2/3 cup, and use cinnamon but not the Chinese 5 Spice. We have used cinnamon & pumpkin pie spices or some combo of them - all spice, clove, ginger. No anise though or anything resembling licorice flavor - yech. Tried this with thawed frozen raspberries and canned peaches - made a great melba blend. So easy my husband can and will make it. He is a better and more patient baker than I am - I cook, he bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I'm going to try this with rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
i've tried this receipe twice, using self rising flour and reviewing the video several times - the flour mixture never rises to the top - always stays under the peaches - not sure what i'm doing wrong,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
So very good! Didn't have a dutch oven so split it between two casserole dishes and it still was awesome. Used canned peaches and allspice instead of chinese five spice as that is what I had. Was fantastic. Made it twice already. I also did not have a problem with too much liquid and followed the cooking time/temps exactly and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Hobson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Very easy and tasty. Add a pinch of 5 spice powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Chef John is making me fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Superb! I added a little brandy & cooked them very briefly flambe style then added the simple syrup & did everything else the same - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talitha McEachin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I recently received a box of peached from the fruit of the month club and didn't have clue what to do with them. Luckily, I found Chef John's Peach Cobbler recipe. I made it exactly as written (and shown on the video) and it was fantastic! I particularly appreciated using Chinese 5 Spice instead of Cinnamon, as it added a new twist to this classic. The recipe is very good just as it is, but if I were to make a suggestion, I'd add an additional cup of sliced peaches. Thanks, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Peach Tartlets

See how to make an impressive but so simple fresh peach dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States