Chef John's Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Do you put the lid on the Dutch oven? I took it off the last 10 minutes. I wanted the crust to be "golden brown". And with the lid on, the crust was white. The crust did not turn brown. Smells good! Timeflies1954
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Used cinnamon instead of Chinese 5-spice. Cut sugar in peach mixture to 3/4 cp. Since others were concerned about too much liquid left after baking, I left out 1 cup of the liquid when I was loading the peaches into the baking dish. Used a large, deep Corning Ware baking dish (don't have a Dutch oven). Tried 375 degrees, but lowered to 350 after top was quickly browned. Baked it 55 minutes. Cobbler came out great -- served it with vanilla ice cream & will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebLeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okc foodadict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
it's simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This went really well. I used canned peaches, instead of actual peaches & syrup. I thought the sugar was way too much though. Considering the fact that the syrup is sweet enough, & I'll be eating it with ice cream, I probably won't put sugar in the batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was my first peach cobbler and I have to say, not only is it scrumptious, it is extremely easy to make. This is something even a beginner can do and really impress their crowd. I used cinnamon in place of the Chinese spice and lemon juice rather than lemon peel. I do not have a cast iron skillet (although I am dying to have one) so I used a baking stone type deep lasagna pan. Baked 50 minutes at 350. The cobbler came out soft and chewy inside with a crispy outer crust. I reserved some of the syrup and used it to put over once I spooned it into a bowl with some vanilla ice cream. If you do not serve this with vanilla ice cream, you are not doing this dessert justice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe with some of the suggestions others made such as cinnamon instead of Chinese spice. dash of lemon juice as well as zest. Used raw sugar for all. Loved it but and would make again but with my old gas oven need to experiment with cook times and temps as although top was nice the center middle was too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vinxy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I've made this cobbler twice now , i didn't use the lemon juice or the Chinese five spice and it was the best cobbler ever . I just bought fresh blackberries and I was wondering do I make them the same way I did the peaches , but use blackberries instead of peaches . Do I add the black berries to the the saucepan with 1 cup of sugar and 1 cup of water and simmer. For 2 to 3 min like I did the peaches ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Just might be the best peach cobbler on the planet! What a great way to celebrate the opening season of fresh free-stone peaches. We live near South Carolina and Georgia, so peaches are a way of life for our family. I did't have any Chinese five-spice, so I used Chai tea seasoning and about 1/8th teaspoon nutmeg. Our entire kitchen smelled amazing, and the cobbler wasn't even in the oven. Took it to a BBQ and everyone raved about it. Kudos to Chef John for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Made this exactly as posted except used used cinnamon instead of five spice powder. It was delicious! Baked it in a huge cast iron skillet and the crust was heavenly and just enough liquid left. Maybe cast iron just cooks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Peach Tartlets

See how to make an impressive but so simple fresh peach dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States