Chef John's Peach Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly except omitted the chinese 5 spice powder. I used a large oval casserole dish, approximately equivalent to a 9x13 pan. I had no problems with it overflowing or being too cakey as other reviewers complained. This was absolutely delicious and looked amazing when it came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Great! Used cinnamon (3/4 tsp.) and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg instead of Chinese spice. Used coconut milk instead of regular since that's what I had; added extra richness. Next time I'll cut down a little on the sugar. Not a problem with too much liquid - I just turned off the oven and let it sit a couple hours and the crust turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was easy to make. I didn't use the spice he recommended. I just used nutmeg. I would add more sugar to the water when adding peaches. That's the only thing I would change. Mine looked just like Chef John, but I didn't take a pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Forget the Chinese spice. As the others stated, mine had way too much liquid after reducing it in half. It was easy to assemble and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
AMAZING!! I have made this several times this summer and it has been a hit each time. I have made it with peaches, peaches and raspberries and with blueberries. Delicious! I have directed many, many people to this recipe as a result. I have made it in a 13 x 9 pan and that has worked well, although I have had to cook it longer. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Clarion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Turned out great! Yes, there was liquid on top when I took out of oven, but the batter was cooked and the liquid thickened up to make a lovely glaze ontop. The family devoured it! I also didn't have Chinese 5 spice so used pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
My first cobbler, and it turned out fine, although after reading the reviews, I did not add all the syrup with the peaches, and I am glad I didn't, I think it kept it from being too sweet. I agree that the five spices add a different flavor but it grows on you, but if you do not like the taste of anise I would just use cinnamon and nutmeg or some traditional tastes. All in all though, I would make it again, I think the spice is an easily acquired taste. I also baked at 375 and even then it took over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I read a few reviews of people who felt they just had to change the spices--Well, you can make ANY peach cobbler recipe and use the same old things with the same old results--good, but nuthin' special. THIS one however USES Chinese 5 spices which creates THEE PERFECT marriage! I never would have thought of that on my own--and I'm so glad Chef John did. This cobbler is absolutely DELICIOUS! And just different enough to make you pay attention as you're savoring the fabulous subtle mix of flavors~ all I gotta say is WOW! SO impressed! This is my new Cobbler recipe from here out. People who know my cooking KNOW I am a fabulous cook and this will help continue my treasured reputation! Thanks John!!! God bless you! Ü
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Absolutely outstanding. This dish only lasted about 15 minutes in my house of 7.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars because I am a good "cook" but NOT a baker at all and it turned out REALLY good! It was easy and my husband loved it. I did not have the Chinese five spice powder so I winged it with cinnamon, nutmeg, and ground allspice. I used my Pampered Chef Dutch oven which was perfect. Thank you Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Peach Tartlets

See how to make an impressive but so simple fresh peach dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States