Chef John's Pavlova with Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bake'n'Eat
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Fantastic dessert! It's like nothing I've tasted before. Be sure to wait a full hour for this to cool - I got anxious and rushed this part; I think my Pavlova would have been a tad taller had I waited the full cooling time. The cream also ended up melting some and so berries weren't stable... Also, if you watch the video, beating the whites by hand is noble but unless you want to spend about 45 minutes doing it, use a mixer!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Next time I make this I might just exclude the whipped cream... don't need the calories and the "meringue" is awesome by itself!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asalik
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Easy and yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tashkent, Toshkent Shahri, Uzbekistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Followed recipe and it came out fantastic. Video was very helpful, and also pretty funny. I didn't crack the surface-- didn't see the need for that. Instead of dotting the top with berries, I macerated some strawberries & raspberries in sugar, and then reduced the juice down to a syrup, and grated a little lime zest into it. Once syrup cooled, I poured it over pavlova & whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Recipe holds! Even on a Northwest rainy day, when I can almost never get meringues to stand. Used leftover eggyolks to make a vanilla pastry cream for the top instead of the whipped cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonjelly
Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sabrina plourde
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
An amazing beautiful dessert! It's pretty easy to make, it taste like it's a european dish and seems to impress anyone you're serving it too! Oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrina plourde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This was a wonderful dessert! Mine did crack a little when I removed it from the parchment paper, but after covering it with whipped cream and fresh strawberries, it really didn't matter. It reminded me of a very upscale strawberry short cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I had this dish in Australia in 1979 and I've always wanted to know how to make it. I agree with another reviewer, it is very European-ish and a delicious, light dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella Signora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Loved it!!! Followed recipe and it came out as sweet and tasted just like I remember from living most of my life in Aussie. Will be making again and enjoyed introducing it to my own children. This tastes just like it should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This recipe is so simple and the dessert itself is absolutely perfect! I make the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States