Chef John's Pavlova with Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Yet another amazing recipe by Chef John! Instead of making one large Pavlova, I used an ice cream scoop and made individual little rounds. The recipe yielded about 18 by using the scoop. After I scooped them onto the parchment lined baking sheets, I turned the scoop over and made a little well for the berries to sit in. I also sliced my strawberries because they were HUGE and leaving them whole wasn't an option. Other than that I made as is. Delicious and perfect for summer time. My kids were surprised and excited to discover the marshmallow texture inside. I highly recommend this recipe, so simple and pretty. Would be great for a luncheon or entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Made this tonight with no modifications and it turned out great. I've never had pavlova before, and found it to be a perfect warm weather dessert. The video was extremely helpful with getting the consistency of the egg white mixture just right. I topped it with the whipped cream in this recipe and sliced strawberries (so as to get a small, hassle-free piece of strawberry in every bite :) ). Made this for 2 people, and we demolished all but 1/6 of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrinabobina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake'n'Eat
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Fantastic dessert! It's like nothing I've tasted before. Be sure to wait a full hour for this to cool - I got anxious and rushed this part; I think my Pavlova would have been a tad taller had I waited the full cooling time. The cream also ended up melting some and so berries weren't stable... Also, if you watch the video, beating the whites by hand is noble but unless you want to spend about 45 minutes doing it, use a mixer!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake'n'Eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Next time I make this I might just exclude the whipped cream... don't need the calories and the "meringue" is awesome by itself!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Followed recipe and it came out fantastic. Video was very helpful, and also pretty funny. I didn't crack the surface-- didn't see the need for that. Instead of dotting the top with berries, I macerated some strawberries & raspberries in sugar, and then reduced the juice down to a syrup, and grated a little lime zest into it. Once syrup cooled, I poured it over pavlova & whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I made this just as stated in the recipe, and it is a beautiful dessert, however, the pavlova is just too sweet for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Recipe holds! Even on a Northwest rainy day, when I can almost never get meringues to stand. Used leftover eggyolks to make a vanilla pastry cream for the top instead of the whipped cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonjelly
Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Wonderful. I used mixed fruit: strawberries, blueberries, peaches and kiwi instead of just the strawberries cause that's what I had. My guests love it and we ate the whole thing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sabrina plourde
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
An amazing beautiful dessert! It's pretty easy to make, it taste like it's a european dish and seems to impress anyone you're serving it too! Oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrina plourde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by asalik
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Easy and yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tashkent, Toshkent Shahri, Uzbekistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Peach Blackberry Flognarde

A fruity baked dessert with a funny name and a secret savory surprise.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Red Velvet Cupcakes

See how to make a classic chocolate cake in delicious cupcake form.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States