Chef John's Patatas Bravas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
WOW muy delicioso! My fiance and I really enjoyed these patatas bravas! I was drooling waiting for them to finish, that's how amazing the kitchen smelled ;) Followed the recipe verbatim, it was quite simple. I especially loved the dipping sauce (any excuse to use my mortar and pestle!!). Thanks John for sharing your recipe! Fierce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Fantastic! Marvelous! Delicious! As soon as I saw this recipe, I knew my boyfriend would go absolutely crazy for them, so I made them for our Valentine's dinner. I made the sauce and the spice mix the night before, which worked out wonderfully on the busy day. I followed this to the letter, and I wouldn't change a thing about them- the flavor combination is out of this world, the spice level is just about perfect, the crispy, crunchy exterior is the perfect housing for the tender potato within. The sauce is just lovely, and would be wonderful on many things. I debated on buying yet another vinegar, but am so happy I did not try to substitute anything else for the sherry vinegar- it is worth it to buy yourself a bottle if you don't keep it on hand. My boyfriend thinks me a kitchen super star- we devoured these with gusto! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Great potatoes that taste like what you get in Spain! This recipe was easy to follow, but it was time consuming. Next time I'll make the sauce and boil the potatoes the night before, so that I only have to fry and season them when I'm cooking dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Holy ! These were FABULOUS and so easy to make! I made them as a side dish for a dinner party with some of my husband's family and everyone loved them so much I ended up having to make them again 2 days later! Thanks so much for this awesomely crunchy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camspencer113

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
These are fabulous! I followed the recipe to the T. Now I know the secret to crispy fried potatoes. A few tips: 1. Make the dipping sauce first (even a day ahead) and let it sit to marry flavors. 2. You can cook the potatoes ahead of time. Just make sure they are dry when you put in oil. 3. Taste the fried potatoes as you add the seasoning after frying. I did not use all of the seasoning mixture to avoid over-saltiness. This recipe is authentic and the sauce tastes just like I had in Barcelona and all over Catalonia. No stars for healthiness, but 5 starts for taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
So I doubled this recipe, so maybe it was a bit off. But it was WAY too salty. I would not put a tablespoon of salt. Maybe it is a misprint? I could see a teaspoon, but definitely not a tablespoon. Luckily it goes in at the end so I was able to shake a bit off. Would have been good without the extreme salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Anthony
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
If I can do it, you can do it lol! I have now made this recipe 3 times for my girlfriend, she loves this recipe! On the spicy side which I love (her not so much). I've learned to also do steps 3 and 4 first, then step 1 and 2, then step 5. In my opinion it makes more sense to do steps 1 and 2 while the potatoes go through their 45 min cool down. Overall though, it's delicious, and I plan on making this for some time to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Amazing! Perfect crisp! I had no idea the secret was in letting the potatoes sit out. Perfectly seasoned, I'm in love. I now follow Chef John and have his blog saved in my favorites! Ever recipe is gold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
FANTASTIC! Made exactly as written, and would not change a thing. I made the sauce the day before, which was great b/c it gave it more time for the flavors to blend. I have to admit that I did find this recipe a bit time consuming, but it was totally worth it...this is a keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Patatas Bravas

See how to make “fierce” and flavorful crispy Spanish potatoes.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States