Chef John's Patatas Bravas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
So I doubled this recipe, so maybe it was a bit off. But it was WAY too salty. I would not put a tablespoon of salt. Maybe it is a misprint? I could see a teaspoon, but definitely not a tablespoon. Luckily it goes in at the end so I was able to shake a bit off. Would have been good without the extreme salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Anthony
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
If I can do it, you can do it lol! I have now made this recipe 3 times for my girlfriend, she loves this recipe! On the spicy side which I love (her not so much). I've learned to also do steps 3 and 4 first, then step 1 and 2, then step 5. In my opinion it makes more sense to do steps 1 and 2 while the potatoes go through their 45 min cool down. Overall though, it's delicious, and I plan on making this for some time to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
The dipping sauce is perfect! I always have it ready in my fridge to use with lots of other foods! Its Great on burgers! Be sure to use good quality paprika (pimenton) and sherry vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Amazing! Perfect crisp! I had no idea the secret was in letting the potatoes sit out. Perfectly seasoned, I'm in love. I now follow Chef John and have his blog saved in my favorites! Ever recipe is gold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
WOW! I love it. I have made it so many times with regular spanish paprika, since I couldn't find smokey paprika and the end result has been excellent every time. Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Great potatoes that taste like what you get in Spain! This recipe was easy to follow, but it was time consuming. Next time I'll make the sauce and boil the potatoes the night before, so that I only have to fry and season them when I'm cooking dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
a nice change that didn't take too long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
i've looked everywhere for a recipe to make potatoes like this! very crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This was a tasty recipe that I'd definitely make again. Great for party food and with just the right texture, it's a party favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
So good! I can't stop eating..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Patatas Bravas

See how to make “fierce” and flavorful crispy Spanish potatoes.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States