Chef John's Pasta Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This recipe lends itself well to modifications. I reduced the olive oil to 1\3 cup to cut calories. I found it was lacking in salt, so you may wish to add some extra. I didn't have jalapenos, so I skipped that step. I added broccoli instead of snap peas because that's what I had on hand. To keep the zucchini from getting mushy, add it with the asparagus at the end. I found 3 cups of broth to be too much; if I make it again, I will reduce it to 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
delicious, varied this since I did not have leeks or fresh basil, I used a pasta seasoning. I added extra green onions,fresh broccoli, brussel sprouts and extra parmesan cheese (I love cheese and wanted extra veggies). Also used chopped garlic instead of cloves aside from that it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I add some kale to this!! Super
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very good. I didn't have everything but went with what I had and it was awesome. I will try it again when I have it all. I did add some broccoli and little sweet peppers along with asparagus and snow peas. Wonderful. The chopping up takes longer than anything. Worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Excellent. Made for St. Paddy's day dinner. All enjoyed. No need to blanch the basil because it gets blended into sauce. Use a strong, sharp cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I just made this recipe the other night and it was so delicious!! My teenagers even ate it!! Perfect dinner for a cold evening. What's even better, it's full of healthy vegetables so I didn't feel guilty eating the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I give it a 4 only because I make a few alterations, so cannot comment on the original recipe. Changes: I use my homemade pesto instead of the garlic-olive oil-basil ingredients; the pesto provides essentially the same flavors plus a bit of thickening from the pine nuts or walnuts. Other main change: I would first boil the pasta (I recommend Bionaturae whole wheat spaghetti, and don't dismiss the idea until you try it. Available, at about 3 bucks a pound, from Amazon), then stir fry everything in a big wok, adding the veggies in the order of leeks, onions, and peppers first, then the other stuff. But that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This recipe is FANTASTIC for so many reasons. I've been making this for about 3 years in every season because I can, because it's so healthy, and because my family and friends all love it. I added the friends part because my kids take the leftovers to school in a thermos and their friends fight to share it with them. Funny, my family wouldn't enjoy half of the vegetables on their own but somehow love it in this combined dish. Do chop ALL the vegetables and have them in prep dishes as well as having all the other ingredients readily available before starting the cooking process. It helps tremendously in the timing, speed, and enjoyment of making this dish. No need to flood the reviews section with ideas to delete or add ingredients, just go green in whatever you have available and let the basil sauce blend it all for you. This is the second recipe (after no kneed bread) that got me hooked on the wonderful world of Chef John. Enjoy ...you have just stumbled on a goldmine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
We have been snow and cold bound in the Northeast this winter. Yesterday was the first warm day of the winter. We spend the entire day outside and then came home and made this AMAZING pasta dinner. This recipe is perfect as written. Not even one change is needed. Be sure to use fresh vegetables and really GOOD cheese. I used a combo of Parm and Asiago which I grated by hand. I will be making this again and again in the warmer months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I wasn't a huge fan of this recipe. I wish there would have been more sauce to the dish. Also, I thought there was way too much greens. Maybe more colors to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States