Chef John's Pasta Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I forgot to get basil and left out leek as I wasn't a fan. Used dried basil instead. I am sure it is not as good, but I still liked it that way, so I'm pretty sure with fresh basil, it will be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Great for spring! The bite of the raw garlic was a bit much for me so I used a few cloves of roasted garlic the second time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Use less chicken stock. Perhaps 2 cups so result will be less soupy. I used 2 garlic cloves as recommended - and I love garlic - but the cloves were large and strong in flavor and so they overpowered the basil sauce - so just a tip to taste the strength of your garlic first or just add 1 Clove to start with and then see if you'd like to add another. . Cook veggies less than recommended time - I prefer peas and zucchini with a bit of crunch to them. I don't care for food that is over salted so I always use sodium free chicken broth so I can control the salt/flavor. This dish is definitely lacking in salt/seasoning. Granted the Parmesan does add a bit of saltiness. I'd suggest salting your pasta water well and adding salt to taste if you used sodium free stock. I also think using only two cups of stock will help with the whole salt issue - won't be as diluted. A great dish you can feel good about serving your family, especially. One last note - I'm admittedly a basil freak - but I would use a VERY large bunch of basil, otherwise the basil flavor gets lost a little for my tastes. And I'd save some fresh basil to sprinkle over the too of the dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This was so god! Especially since we are waiting for spring. I had to half the veg because my husband is not so into veggies. I would have loved it with it with what it called for, really awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katherine99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is delicious...the pesto like sauce is amazing. I substituted spinach for the zucchini. Far easier to make than it seems when skimming the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cobalt123
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Amazing, the best new recipe I've made this year. Highly recommended and I used every ingredient and step by Chef John. The amount made is huge but our family of four devoured the entire big bowl immediately. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cobalt123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Made this last night. It was delicious! Husband kept going back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Outstanding! I loved the fresh flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Wow, this was delicious. It had the perfect amount of everything and we had a ton of leftovers. We also just tried Chef John's Italian meatballs and I've got to say we're hooked on his recipes and can't wait to try more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States