Chef John's Pasta Primavera Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Pretty tasty, with lots of fresh veggie flavor. I think I would cut the chicken broth down to 2 cups total next time, as the sauce was a little runny for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is absolutely delicious! And the brilliant, fresh green color of the herbs and veggies dazzles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fava Bean
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was excellent. Followed the recipe 100% and I wouldn't change a thing. I did not cut the asparagus in half vertically like he did in the video because I didn't want to spend that much time cutting each stalk, but it was still cooked to the perfect tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
It's vegetarian and every body loves it. You got to try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
What a surprise! Delicious! I admit I was hesitant looking at all these green vegetables chopped up thinking there was no way my family was going to like this. My husband was skeptical, too. Also, at first it seemed like way too many vegetables for the pasta. Then I was chopping jalapeño thinking this is going to be hot. And then cutting the huge bouquet of basil from the garden thinking this was going to be wayyyyy too much basil flavor. The odds were stacked against it all in my mind, but I trusted the reviews, and Chef John has never steered me wrong. Glad we did! Everyone was surprised and LOVED this dish! It doesn't taste anything like what you think it will based on the individual ingredients. It comes together magically flavorful and filling. Even if you don't like one of the ingredients, you probably won't notice. My step-daughter said, "I don't like zucchini, but I like this 'cause there's hardly any zucchini in there"--to which my husband replied, "Keep believing that." Haha. What a great way to "get your vegetables."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This recipe is great; give you a health and tasty alternative to the usual white and red sauce. One tip if you are using low sodium chicken stock you need to add more salt. Mine came out a little on the light side. I added more cheese as well. This is another great recipe from Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Panda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Amazing! I used fresh garlic and herb linguine from the farmers market. My boyfriend looked doubtful when he saw how many vegetables were going into this, but he just finished his second helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This recipe is absolutely delicious! I love that it is "Green"! I did not have English peas, but I had some fresh Garbonzo beans (green), so I used those and it made the meal complete! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this today. It is a little labor intensive, but the next time, I know it will seem easier. I really didn't think I would like this. The basil, olive oil, broth mixture just did not seem thick enough for my tastes. One complaint: I wish the amount of basil was stated. Basil is a very strong flavor and while I love basil, the amount really makes a difference. Stating "a bunch" is specific enough and too much can ruin a dish IMHO. I substituted broccoli for the zucchini because my son doesn't like zucchini. I let the whole dish sit for a minute under foil and then brought it to the table. I put more cheese on because I didn't think it had enough flavor, but I took a small helping more and wow, what a difference a few minutes made. I really like this dish and my husband did too. I personally think that broccoli was a better addition than zucchini would have been. It has so much more flavor and it did not overpower the other veggies. What a delicious dish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
The whole family likes this and leftovers went quickly! I didn't use the jalapeno since my kids don't like spicy food but it still had a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Dima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

How to Make Pasta Primavera

See how to make a delicious spring pasta loaded with fresh vegetables.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States