Chef John's New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Tried it and it was great. Better then I had in a long time. Will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is an awesome recipe. Everyone in my family loves this dish! The best part was the aroma that filled the kitchen when preparing the sauce. ***so*** yummy!!! And chef John is right. Rice is the only way to go with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Great stuff! I halved the recipe and elected to use GOYA Adobo seasoning in place of Old Bay, simply because we don't care for Old Bay. This is a winner! I served it over Ready Rice and Beans alongside Quick Cajun Vegetables from this site. Thanks for a great dinner, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gwBarker
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This turned out really, really good! Easy to follow and complete recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Excellent recipe...cooked as written and have served to my family several times and it's always a hit, even with my 9 year old grandson. The aroma as it's cooking is delectable and draws people to the kitchen. Tonight I served over spaghetti squash...just made sure I had plenty of the awesome sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
It taste sooooo good! But I just added some shrimp to my recipe & as an alternative to old bay and paprika, I used nutmeg, some cayenne , & a dash of cinnamon! I also added some onions ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! I didn't have any fresh rosemary so I used 1/4 tsp of ground poultry seasoning instead since that does contain rosemary. I thickened the sauce a bit with a little cornstarch at the end. Thank you Chef John, once again you've given us another winner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I live in New Orleans and this is as good a recipe for barbecue shrimp as I could find. The only thing I changed is that I doubled the amount of butter used and serve over grits or use French bread for soaking up all the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Chef John’s Indoor BBQ Shrimp

Is this the easiest, most delicious shrimp recipe ever? Possibly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States