Chef John's Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
A super easy and delicious recipe. Chef John has done it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I have made this a few times now and this time I changed it up a bit. This gravy is spectacular the way it is but I had pork that I wanted to cook. My mom used to use cream of mushroom soup and take pork chops and fry them then cover them with the soup and simmer til they were tender. Well I don't like using the soup because of the sodium and preservatives. So I decided to cut my pork roast into chops, season with salt and pepper and pan fry with some olive oil and butter. In another pan I decided to make this gravy. I sauteed some onion til clear, added my mushrooms and a couple of cloves of minced garlic. Waited till the liquid evaporated and followed the directions for the gravy. When my pork "chops" were browned, I cut them up in smaller pieces and added them to my gravy. I also added some fresh thyme and a couple of fresh sage leaves chopped. I simmered the pork in the mushroom gravy till it was super tender. I also added a few glugs (industry term) of white wine to the gravy. While all that was happening I boiled up some egg noodles. We spooned the pork mixture over the noodles and magic happened, it was completely silent. Everyone loved the dinner, Thanks Chef John for a perfect recipe to also make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I used vegetable broth instead of beef stock and it turned out great. Nice way to make more boring chicken taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
We used the liquid bouillon. It DOES make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reine333

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I omitted using additional salt, though I did use salted butter. I also had beef stock paste (1 tspn per 8oz of water), and only used 2 tspns of it so it wouldn't be as salty. I probably should have only used 3 cups of water instead of 4, as it was more liquidy than I wanted, but I had already added all of the water, and ended up adding some extra flour to thicken it. Absolutely delicious. Used on chicken and baked fries. Will definitely make again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitemousie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This recipe is a keeper, I added mushrooms to the sauce. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Tasted great. I will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brock Carson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Half the broth I subbed Condensed French Onion Soup to it. I think I would try this again without the soup and just stick to the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ravens Gurl
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made the addition of two chopped onions, which I browned with the mushrooms to deepen the flavour. I also substituted a portion of the broth for a can of beer. This gravy turned out absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made some tweaks. Came out super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giamaica Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States