Chef John's Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I've made several batches of this gravy and have tried low sodium stock, broth, store brand stock as well as a quality stock. I've salted the mushrooms, I've left the salt out of the mushrooms, used salted butter, unsalted butter - you name it I've tried it. Mostly due to making it from memory or using what I happened to have on hand at the time. The best batch I made was my first batch. The stock you use makes a big difference. I chose a high quality low sodium stock, did not salt the mushrooms and used salted butter which resulted in a very flavorful perfectly seasoned gravy. I have tried both sliced as well as roughly chopped mushrooms and prefer the chopped version. The reducing definitely increases the salt content so watch the simmering process carefully. It is easy to get busy in the kitchen and forget about your simmering gravy which can make or break this recipe. The fresh thyme was a nice touch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Perfect as written but I used 1 1/2 pounds of mushrooms. Makes a lot (what I wanted); now have easy great gravy from the freezer whenever I need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This recipe is great. I served it with Chef John's Classic meatloaf and it is a really good gravy recipe considering there isn't any meat drippings. I will be making this again. Thank you Chef John. FYI - I used unsalted butter and low sodium beef broth and it wasn't too salty. I did not use the beef stock but either would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This is really good. I used vegetable stock rather than beef, and added onions. It doesn't need that much salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Great! Change according to your taste… I used veggie broth instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is a great mushroom gravy recipe! My wife loves it on potatoes and it is absolutely killer with beef! Another excellent Chef John version of a classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I used mushroom broth instead of beef stock, and instead of butter I used meat drippings, added some pureed garlic and a pinch of pepper.....much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Mmmm! I made this tonight to go over some mashed red potatoes. This was dashed good. Not as thick as some gravies, but the potatoes just soaked this up. Followed to the letter and it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and it was nothing less that exceptional!! I doubled the mushrooms using regular & cremini. I didn't have thyme on hand, I used the beef stock and followed the recipe other than that.It was such a great hit with the family that I will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this for brunch with biscuits. I used chicken broth - it was delicious! I did add chardonnay to enhance the flavors. Although I didn't have fresh thyme I used dried thyme and still loved the thyme in there. I made this for a crowd and have leftovers. I cannot wait to use this in a baked chicken and rice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States