Chef John's Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made as directed. Delicious! Husband loved it. Keeping this for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
The best gravy.... Ever!!!! Simply delicious. We've had it on steak, meatloaf, roast beef, & mashed potatoes. Didn't have fresh thyme- so used dried herbs de Provence. Also- used 3-4 tsp dissolved in 2 cups warm water better than beef bouillon rather than beef stock- cuts down on the amount of liquid you need to reduce. Chef john is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I did add about a tablespoon of a Cabernet which added a nice depth to the flavor. Delicious with or without that. I second what others have said about watching the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Thought this was delicious. I used unsalted beef broth(Swanson) and it was salty enough for us. I thought it needed a little more flour because it was more like a sauce than a gravy, but the mushroom flavor was great.I don't usually rate recipes but this one would be good on many different meat recipes so I think it is a keeper. Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Waldron
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I didn't follow this exactly per the instructions. I added only one can of 14 ounce beef stock and it came out divine! I'm using it for mushroom swiss burgers! Thank you Chef John!!! This will be a constant in our home! I can't quit *sampling* it...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Waldron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This was the first time I have made gravy from scratch. Very easy and nice mushroom flavour - but TOO SALTY! Definitely no need to add salt to the mushrooms as recipe suggests. Will make again with these amendments :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karinne Geale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
best gravy I have ever made. Thank you again Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Always love Chef John's recipes! Followed the recipe to a T and it came out perfectly. I browned some meatballs first separately and then added them to the gravy for the last 10 or 15 minutes to cook them through. Served with Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes and steamed broccoli. They whole family cleaned their plates, including the picky 5 and 7 yr olds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Not worth the effort. About all you taste is the beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
A super easy and delicious recipe. Chef John has done it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States