Chef John's Minestrone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Excellent soup with incredible flavor! I followed the recipe exactly except for replacing cranberry beans with canned, drained cannelloni beans. Because we like a stew-like soup, I did not add the water. This is the new family favorite! Thanks, Chef John, for another winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I was looking for an authentic Italian vegetable soup. This minestrone was a heart/hearty /healthy soup that tastes great. I couldnt find cranberry beans, so substituted pinto beans. The babykale/chard/spinach blend I found at Sams club worked fine. I used San Marzano tomatoes which gave a sweeter taste. Next time I might add a little wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I've made this a couple of times. Couldn't find pancetta or Swiss chard at our grocery store so I had to substitute Canadian bacon and prosciutto and kale. This soup is always a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
The whole thing about minestrone is being able to modify the ingredients to what you have on hand or what you prefer, but the base of this recipe is spot on. Some additions to try in addition or instead of what's in the recipe are kidney (cannelloni beans) or navy beans, diced zucchini, crumbled Italian sausage, kitchen cut green beans. Overall my whole family enjoyed this and it will stay in my Allrecipe file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This was outstanding. I loved it. If your family is sensitive to heat, I would cut the pepper flakes back by half. The grand kids thought it was a bit "spicy". Excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usngunner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keithsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I have only made split pea and lentil soup before, so I was very excited to try this. WOW! What a tasty soup this made! I didn't have Swiss Chard at my supermarket, so I had to substitute collard greens. I also added a can of red kidney beans. It was delicious, very hearty and my son and husband loved it! The only thing I will say was that my soup came out a little salty, but my Italian seasoning I had also contained sea salt (I saw this too late). I just kept adding water to the soup, and it turned out okay. I will have to invest in some new seasoning next time around! That being said, I was really delighted with Chef John's recipe. Can't wait to try his chicken soup recipe next!! Thanks for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
You cannot go wrong with Chef John. All of his recipes that I have tried are wonderful. This is no exception. My husband is a raging carnivore so I doubled the pancetta. I could not find cranberry beans so I used canned great nothern beans as a sub. I was afraid the beans would become mushy during the 45 minute simmer but they held up nicely. Otherwise followed the instructions exactly. The soup was magnificent. I like to wait until soup (or any dish really) is done before adding any salt. I found this soup did not need the salt that was called for (possibly because my canned beans were salted alread). In my opinion, this was more like 8 - 10 servings (not 6 as stated). There were plenty of leftovers and the soup reheats perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very good. Ended up needing quite a bit more liquid. I used 4 extra cups of chicken broth. My fiancé (who doesn't care for soup) commented that this was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Skipped the bacon, substituted cooked quinoa instead of noodles, and carrots instead of celery (that's just what we had). The whole family loved it. A very adaptable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Simple and delicious. Used Kale for the greens. This recipe will be in the rotation for sure. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spin sister

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States