Chef John's Minestrone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was great! I think next time I would use half the recommended amount of red pepper flakes; the adults all loved it but it was a bit spicy for the kiddos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
As Chef John notes, this isn't a soup you make the same way twice. I made it with what I had from the garden, similar to this, but with variations in the veggies. Just wanted to mention (in case someone else hasn't)unless you're going to finish the soup in one sitting, it's better to cook the pasta separately and add to the soup as you serve it so it doesn't soak up the broth and get huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe that is so delicious. I did not have dried cranberry beans or canned garbanzos; used 2 cans red kidney and one can cannellini. Chef John's recipes are so good, I stick with what is written if I have everything listed in the recipe. If not, then substitutions are made out of necessity, primarily. This time, I did add some fresh oregano and rosemary because it is in my garden and fresh herbs always make recipes so vibrant. LOVED this soup -- but it makes ALOT OF FOOD! Oh, I did add 1/2 teaspoon of balsamic vinegar to the soup -- it's some thing I add to most of my Italian soups and sauces---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
We loved it! I substituted pancetta with sausage and as chard is not available I used carrots. Also used a bit more pepper flakes to make the soup spicier. Thanks Chef John. Definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly. The next time, I might leave out the garbanzo beans, just because I think the soup is hardy enough with out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I just started growing Swiss chard this spring. When I saw this soup recipe, I just had to try it. It is so delicious. I pretty much followed the recipe but added sausage and fresh herbs. My husband wanted second bowl! My whole family loves this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I usually don't like minestrone soup that is served at most restaurants and I made this soup at the urging of my husband. I LOVE this soup. It wasn't as hard as I thought it might be and it does take some time to make. I watched the video and I made it exactly like he said (the first time I made it I added too much pasta, but it was still good). I used the Swiss chard as listed and although I don't think I had ever had Swiss chard before it really added to the dish. I have and will make this soup again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Awesome! Tasted amazing, added more veggies and stuff too it, I always do that when I make soup. I had never made it before so I needed some guidelines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is one of the best soups I've ever made. I used red kidney beans and cannelini, and I had some spinach, so I skipped the chard this time, but will try it in the future, as it is so pretty and tasty. Since I used all canned beans and spinach, my cook time was shorter, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent soup. Instead of Swiss chard I used chopped spinach. The cranberry beans are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States