Chef John's Minestrone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I usually don't like minestrone soup that is served at most restaurants and I made this soup at the urging of my husband. I LOVE this soup. It wasn't as hard as I thought it might be and it does take some time to make. I watched the video and I made it exactly like he said (the first time I made it I added too much pasta, but it was still good). I used the Swiss chard as listed and although I don't think I had ever had Swiss chard before it really added to the dish. I have and will make this soup again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Awesome! Tasted amazing, added more veggies and stuff too it, I always do that when I make soup. I had never made it before so I needed some guidelines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is one of the best soups I've ever made. I used red kidney beans and cannelini, and I had some spinach, so I skipped the chard this time, but will try it in the future, as it is so pretty and tasty. Since I used all canned beans and spinach, my cook time was shorter, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent soup. Instead of Swiss chard I used chopped spinach. The cranberry beans are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Best hearty minestrone soup. Did not need the pasta. Delicious with all the fresh vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I have made this soup about 4 times now and every time I make it I am surprised at the flavor. I could just eat the broth alone but adding all of the other yummys makes it that much more exciting. My husband does not like cabbage or beans but he asks me to make this a lot. Funny how you can get them to eat healthy and like it. The red pepper flakes give it a real kick so just know that 1tsp will give it some heat. I Love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
As always, Chef John knocks it out of the park. This one is excellent. There wasn't any Swiss Chard or Ditalini available and I wasn't going to throw $10+ a pound Pancetta in a soup broth so I used Turnip Greens, bacon and as there weren't any fresh 'shellies' I justed drained a can of Canalini beans. For pasta I used Mini Farfalle (Bow ties). The night I served it 'fresh' it was five stars in flavor, but seemed like there wasn't enough pasta, but you know pasta! The next day the pasta had swelled more, the flavors had 'melded' and it was off the charts. It's great the day you make it, but I am going to make it on 'slow days' when I can play in the kitchen and just put the cooled pot in the frig for that hectic day later in the week. Pick up a loaf of Italian bread, re-heat it and 'dip and slurp'. Now 'go play with your food!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Absolutely marvelous! The perfect winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Giorgio-Stokdal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! My recipe for minestrone soup is getting deleted from my recipe box, because this one is the new replacement. This soup got the best response from my family. All through dinner it was hmmm. Thank you Chef John, I hope everyone tries this soup. It is a keeper, and the go to. I couldn't find the cranberry beans so I did use cannellini beans in their place. Everything else is spot on in flavor and amounts. Kat >^..^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cats-n-Roses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This soup was decent. Very hearty and very thick. Be sure to have a giant dutch oven to make it in. This time I put in one italian sausage. Next time I'd like to do 2 or maybe even 3 because the sausage is the best part. I also think it needs mushrooms. The tomato flavor is pretty overwhelming. I think next time I'll try some red wine to give it a different flavor. All I really taste is tomato and chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States