Chef John's Minestrone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Simple and delicious. Used Kale for the greens. This recipe will be in the rotation for sure. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spin sister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe called for except I was unable to find cranberry beans anywhere. It was delicious but very spicy for my family. Next time, I will use 1/4 t of the red pepper flakes instead of 1 t!! I like it spicy, but my family does not!!! Thanks for this delicious veggie filled soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Hubby and I loved this! Couldn't find cranberry beans, so used pinto beans, and 28 Oz diced tomatoes, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. (Did use a little less salt, and a little less red pepper flakes.). Great flavor, and, like most soups, just gets better the next day. I did not find that the ditalini soaked up too much broth overnight, even though I cooked it in the soup. It did make a lot ... have eaten 4 big bowls, and still have lots left, but that's not a bad thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Really good and super flexible. Used four strips of bacon instead of pancetta, skipped the celery, but added a bit more onion, used canned borlotti beans instead of dried cranberry beans, only a quarter tsp of red pepper flakes, orzo instead of ditalini, and skipped the salt (I did need to add some at the table). Also forgot the parsley. Since I didn't used dried beans I added the pasta with the cabbage and then added the beans when it was al dente (saved a bunch of time this way). Threw in the chard once the beans were warm and turned off the heat. The parm and olive oil really add something. Simple, basic recipe that I will make again. Maybe with sausage next time? Or maybe not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was great! I think next time I would use half the recommended amount of red pepper flakes; the adults all loved it but it was a bit spicy for the kiddos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
As Chef John notes, this isn't a soup you make the same way twice. I made it with what I had from the garden, similar to this, but with variations in the veggies. Just wanted to mention (in case someone else hasn't)unless you're going to finish the soup in one sitting, it's better to cook the pasta separately and add to the soup as you serve it so it doesn't soak up the broth and get huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe that is so delicious. I did not have dried cranberry beans or canned garbanzos; used 2 cans red kidney and one can cannellini. Chef John's recipes are so good, I stick with what is written if I have everything listed in the recipe. If not, then substitutions are made out of necessity, primarily. This time, I did add some fresh oregano and rosemary because it is in my garden and fresh herbs always make recipes so vibrant. LOVED this soup -- but it makes ALOT OF FOOD! Oh, I did add 1/2 teaspoon of balsamic vinegar to the soup -- it's some thing I add to most of my Italian soups and sauces---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
We loved it! I substituted pancetta with sausage and as chard is not available I used carrots. Also used a bit more pepper flakes to make the soup spicier. Thanks Chef John. Definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly. The next time, I might leave out the garbanzo beans, just because I think the soup is hardy enough with out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I just started growing Swiss chard this spring. When I saw this soup recipe, I just had to try it. It is so delicious. I pretty much followed the recipe but added sausage and fresh herbs. My husband wanted second bowl! My whole family loves this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States