Chef John's Meatless Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
So good! Wish I had doubled the recipe. I used half the amount of mushrooms chopped very fine. I made this gluten free by replacing the breadcrumbs with more oats. Otherwise made as is. They held together perfectly! Next time I will quadruple and freeze for a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE4KYLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Loved the texture and the taste was pretty good, but I should have browned the mushrooms more. Especially after watching the video, I see how vital this step is. I think mine lacked the depth of flavor that other reviewers got, so I will brown them a bit beyond "golden brown" next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
The meatballs themselves were tasty but it was too much work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I made these tonight with spaghetti ,my grandchildren did not know they were veggie meatballs.I did not tell them or they would not have tried them...they were so good,my adopted daughter ate four of them...I was on a time limit so I didn't put them in the fridge for four hours,They were still delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
These were ok to me. I grew up around a lot of vegetarians and even spent some time as a vegetarian myself so I've had many different kinds of vegetarian meatballs both store bought and homemade and these ranked about middle of the pack in my opinion. I think these are the kind that actually are better outside of a tomato based sauce just on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This recipe is amazing! I made it exactly as written a few days ago. I'm back at it today and the only change I'll make is to double it. Thanks for giving the vegetarians out there something they can share with their meat eating friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
Ok I'm not a vegetarian, in fact I don't enjoy most veggie meals.... These are some of the best "meatballs " I've ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
I had lots of mushrooms and didn't want them to go to waste so I made these meatballs and they were Delicious! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I made these meatballs and substituted nutritional yeast for the cheese (lactose intolerant). They came out great and also freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VI L
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Delicious!! Definitely will be making this again! I used to eat meat so I know how meatballs taste. I would definitely choose the meatless meatball over the one that's made out of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VI L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Falafel

Try this crisp, tender, all around yummy recipe for falafel!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States