Chef John's Meatless Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Wow. A great meat free recipe. I omitted the parsley and used cilantro. I also used gluten free bread crumbs ( ground up matzo cracker). Well worth the work. I also used the same ingredients for an eggplant lasagna. It was awesome. A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Made this for my veggie brother. Really straight forward. The time consuming part is the resting in the fridge. I made night before so spent lots of time in fridge to really firm up. Used mini food processor for onions and mushrooms. Also sweated the mushrooms in jalapeño infused garlic olive oil to start. Flavour was awesome and the texture lovely and firm. Definitely a recipe for my 'Go To' section for any veggie guests in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delicious! Stayed together like a real meatball with a firm outside(be sure you flip often in the oven to crisp up all the sides) and melt-in-your mouth center. I used a small cookie scoop to get uniform balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
My husband and I loved this recipe! I strayed from the original recipe by using baby bella mushrooms, leaving the mixture in the fridge 48 hours (forgot we had dinner plans the day I was originally going to make them), and adding two pinches of cayenne pepper. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and these came out great. It really does end up looking like meat. My non-vegetarian husband and brother really liked them too. Only thing I would change is cooking them a bit longer in the oven to get more crispy on the outside but that's just my preference. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I would give this 6 stars if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
These morsels were terrific! Thank you Chef John. I am ready to make them again, to try them out on one of my carnivore friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
These were really really good and I am a meat and potatoes kinda guy. I let them sit overnight in fridge as suggested and could not be any happier. Make sure to watch the video first though as the process it described much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Delicious! !!! Everone loved it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LUPARS
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is the best meat free recipe i have found! i used baby bellas, gruyere cheese and egg beaters. Next time i will veganize it with vegan parm and a flax egg. i served it with red gravy for sandwiches and also made a glaze of angry orchard hard cider, organic blackstrap molasses, soy and pink peppercorns. both were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUPARS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States