Chef John's Meatless Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Okay, I read this recipe and watched the video and my immediate thought was . . . ya right! I don't believe it. . . but I just had to try and it. And I was blown away. They turned out fantastic. You really can't believe that these are not made with lean ground beef. I'm just making them now a second time. They will be a favourite in my family for a long time. The only thing I changed in the recipe is I used 1 egg and egg white for the second egg. Mostly because I only had one egg in the fridge. But the egg white will make it even healthier. I'll just have to see if they mixture rolls into balls tomorrow after resting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've made these meatballs a couple of times. They are delicious with spaghetti and make a dynamite meatball sub! I used Quaker Old Fashioned Oats since that's the kind I had, and I used Panko bread crumbs. The video instructions say to cool the mushroom mixture after adding the oats. The written instructions above omits that step. I followed the video instructions and let the mixture cool to room temperature before adding the cheese and remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I made this recipe for the first time the other day and it turned out excellent. I've been following a low GI diet plan, so this recipe was perfect for dinner. I did only use one egg and they held together just fine. I loved them. I plan on making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cary Odell
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made these for my dad for Father's Day. I used the food processor to get the mushrooms and onions nice and small; glad I did. It was amazing how much this recipe actually looks like meat. I used a small ice cream scoop just like I do for meatbalIs. I only refriderated a couple of hours and i am curious how much better they would be refrigerated overnight. I must confess dad did not get the full serving of meatless-meatballs because It was so good before I even put it in the refrigerator (had to sample) and then amazing after it was cooked ( had to sample). I will make this again and turn my vegetarian friends onto it. Thanks once again Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Yummy! I have tried store-bought phony meatballs & have never found one I liked. These are really good. They were time consuming to make, but I made a double batch, so that did take more time. I urge you to watch the video before attempting this recipe because Chef John is not only cool & has an awesome voice, he also has great tips for making the best meatballs. I chopped my mushrooms, as he said, to about the size of a kernel of corn, but wish I would have made them a tad smaller. I sautéed my onions separately only because I was feeding anti-onion eaters. I also used half eggs & half egg substitute made out of flax meal and water. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
These are great. I made exactly as directed except I halved the salt. Definitely give these a try and watch the how to video at the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britterica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemanuelthelazy
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this with a white sauce and thick rotini, and it was amazing. My boyfriend even loved it and he's a difficult to please carnivore. I didn't have onions in the house, so I used leeks instead and it turned out well. I didn't have time to let it refrigerate for too long either, but they held together perfectly. Can't wait to try this with spaghetti! I'm going to make a bushel of these and keep them in my freezer for all my meatless needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
These are amazing. I didn't use nearly 1oz of parmesan cheese, but they were still fantastic. I'm not sure why there is a review that someone's were falling apart. I imagine they didn't cook the mushrooms down enough if they had to add more breadcrumbs. The texture was perfect. My 5 year old son devoured his and raved about them. They are very comparable to the Nate's veggie meatballs that are ridiculously expensive for what they are. These are in permanent rotation. I'm going to try making a very large batch and freezing the balls before cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Delicious! These are great whether you a vegetarian or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saemma
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe is a true keeper! Very tasty and delicious! I used portobello mushrooms and mozzarella cheese instead of the parmesan and button mushrooms. I also made my own homemade bread crumbs too and marinated overnight. Die hard Meat lovers would be extremely surprised to find out that something so appetizing actually be made without meat! Will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States