Chef John's Meatless Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've made these meatballs a couple of times. They are delicious with spaghetti and make a dynamite meatball sub! I used Quaker Old Fashioned Oats since that's the kind I had, and I used Panko bread crumbs. The video instructions say to cool the mushroom mixture after adding the oats. The written instructions above omits that step. I followed the video instructions and let the mixture cool to room temperature before adding the cheese and remaining ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
If I could rate this on taste alone it would get a 5! These are great and the texture is amazing. I also like the colour mix in it. However these didn't hold together very well for me and I needed to cook them for an extra 5-6 mins in the oven to ensure that they didn't fall apart when I was cooking them in the pasta sauce. Chop everything very finely and add extra breadcrumbs if neeeded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Yummy! I have tried store-bought phony meatballs & have never found one I liked. These are really good. They were time consuming to make, but I made a double batch, so that did take more time. I urge you to watch the video before attempting this recipe because Chef John is not only cool & has an awesome voice, he also has great tips for making the best meatballs. I chopped my mushrooms, as he said, to about the size of a kernel of corn, but wish I would have made them a tad smaller. I sautéed my onions separately only because I was feeding anti-onion eaters. I also used half eggs & half egg substitute made out of flax meal and water. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I am a vegan and you could have done this a little better by taking out the dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made these for my dad for Father's Day. I used the food processor to get the mushrooms and onions nice and small; glad I did. It was amazing how much this recipe actually looks like meat. I used a small ice cream scoop just like I do for meatbalIs. I only refriderated a couple of hours and i am curious how much better they would be refrigerated overnight. I must confess dad did not get the full serving of meatless-meatballs because It was so good before I even put it in the refrigerator (had to sample) and then amazing after it was cooked ( had to sample). I will make this again and turn my vegetarian friends onto it. Thanks once again Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I love mushrooms. My husband and son do not share this view with me. While I was making the recipe my son came up and said "I am NOT going to like that!" He ended up eating most of the meatballs. My husband loved the recipe and is now making them again tonight (4 days later). Great recipe, thanks for helping to turn my family into mushroom believers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I made this recipe for the first time the other day and it turned out excellent. I've been following a low GI diet plan, so this recipe was perfect for dinner. I did only use one egg and they held together just fine. I loved them. I plan on making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LUPARS
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is the best meat free recipe i have found! i used baby bellas, gruyere cheese and egg beaters. Next time i will veganize it with vegan parm and a flax egg. i served it with red gravy for sandwiches and also made a glaze of angry orchard hard cider, organic blackstrap molasses, soy and pink peppercorns. both were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUPARS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemanuelthelazy
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this with a white sauce and thick rotini, and it was amazing. My boyfriend even loved it and he's a difficult to please carnivore. I didn't have onions in the house, so I used leeks instead and it turned out well. I didn't have time to let it refrigerate for too long either, but they held together perfectly. Can't wait to try this with spaghetti! I'm going to make a bushel of these and keep them in my freezer for all my meatless needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Okay, I read this recipe and watched the video and my immediate thought was . . . ya right! I don't believe it. . . but I just had to try and it. And I was blown away. They turned out fantastic. You really can't believe that these are not made with lean ground beef. I'm just making them now a second time. They will be a favourite in my family for a long time. The only thing I changed in the recipe is I used 1 egg and egg white for the second egg. Mostly because I only had one egg in the fridge. But the egg white will make it even healthier. I'll just have to see if they mixture rolls into balls tomorrow after resting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracie

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Falafel

Try this crisp, tender, all around yummy recipe for falafel!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States