Chef John's Meatless Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I would love to try this recipe but I have a question. My husband does not like Parmesan cheese and can almost always detect even the smallest amount. Is the cheese used for flavor, texture, or both? And if for texture, is there an acceptable substitute? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I've tried this recipe and the meatballs were perfect for my meat -free dinner. I processed finely all ingredients in a food processor and then baked them in a non stick pan (like an hamburger). Delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I am a vegan and you could have done this a little better by taking out the dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
After reading all the reviews, I plan to process everything finely before mixing together, and possibly adding an extra egg. That way, they should stick together without being refrigerated for too long. I don't consider this to be much work, other than the frig part, which isn't work, it's just too time consuming. My frig is very small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
These are amazing. I didn't use nearly 1oz of parmesan cheese, but they were still fantastic. I'm not sure why there is a review that someone's were falling apart. I imagine they didn't cook the mushrooms down enough if they had to add more breadcrumbs. The texture was perfect. My 5 year old son devoured his and raved about them. They are very comparable to the Nate's veggie meatballs that are ridiculously expensive for what they are. These are in permanent rotation. I'm going to try making a very large batch and freezing the balls before cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lemanuelthelazy
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this with a white sauce and thick rotini, and it was amazing. My boyfriend even loved it and he's a difficult to please carnivore. I didn't have onions in the house, so I used leeks instead and it turned out well. I didn't have time to let it refrigerate for too long either, but they held together perfectly. Can't wait to try this with spaghetti! I'm going to make a bushel of these and keep them in my freezer for all my meatless needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
These are great. I made exactly as directed except I halved the salt. Definitely give these a try and watch the how to video at the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britterica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saemma
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe is a true keeper! Very tasty and delicious! I used portobello mushrooms and mozzarella cheese instead of the parmesan and button mushrooms. I also made my own homemade bread crumbs too and marinated overnight. Die hard Meat lovers would be extremely surprised to find out that something so appetizing actually be made without meat! Will definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Delicious! These are great whether you a vegetarian or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I'm a huge fan of Chef John, his videos and the recipes of his I've made. This one is good, but I prefer my mushroom taste to be more obvious. They are amazingly "meat-like", and taste good, but are a lot of work & I doubt I'd make them again. I'm glad I tried them, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States