Chef John's Meatless Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
What a fantastic recipe! I followed it exactly and the meatballs turned out perfectly tasting even better than real meat! I cant wait to test these on my teenage son who hates mushrooms...!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Marys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Great taste and texture! Finely chopping the mushrooms is key, otherwise these come together easily and hold up well in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Delish! Both me and my carnivore husband loved them as sliders. Prep takes a bit of time, though, so next time I'm going to make a bigger batch to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
These are easily the BEST TASTING meatballs (meat-free or meat-filled) that I've ever made. I was so surprised at the texture and how well they stayed together. They are just delicious. I did, however, make a few minor changes to the recipe to suit my kitchen. I omitted the cayenne pepper, added about 1/4 c additional cheese (mozzerella/parmesan blend) and a few teaspoons of chickpea flour as I added the last egg because I was a little light on breadcrumbs and also to bulk up the protein and help them stick together a little better. I baked them for about 25 minutes, flipping a few times, let them cool completely and put them into a preheated crockpot filled with tomato sauce on "warm" while I waited for my husband to get home. Truly worth the time and effort, and like everyone else here I will definitely make double- or triple!- batches in the future to freeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My husband said if he didn't watch me make these he would think they were made with meat. And my Vegetarian friend immediately asked for the recipe. They don't take any more time than meat balls. I cooked them in my toaster oven for 10 minutes, turned them and cooked them for 10 more minutes. They were crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
OMG these are soooo good. I have never made vegetarian meatballs before and I am so glad i used this recipe for my first go. My meat-eating family agreed these were so good you didnt even miss the meat. For this particular recipe, i do recommend watching the video before making them. It helped me know how long to cook everything and what to expect. I will absolutely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
As usual, a great recipe from Chef John! I was so happy to have good meatless meatballs with our pasta dinner. I used the food processor to chop the mushrooms and everything came together just fine. After baking I put them in a slow cooker of hot tomato sauce and let them cook for a couple of hours. They held together very well. I will make these again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Made the meatballs ahead as recipe dictated, and added them to homemade sauce and spaghetti noodles. 5/5, homerun. Thank you for a great vegetarian option to a homemade Italian/American classic Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Love this recipe! I'm making it again for xmas dinner. This time I substituted half the mushrooms for lentils to boost up the protein content and the flavor came out just as nice. It's a wonderful vegetarian option to add to the Italian dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki Z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My third time making these! The first go I didn't have time to overnight them in the fridge. The first time they formed nicely. The second and now the third, I had problems. I've discovered that if I start to form the balls right when I take them out of fridge, they crumble and fall apart. Then I discovered that if I let them sit out on the counter and get some of the chill out of them, they form and stick nicely. Next time I think I'll use the food processor rather than hand chop the mushrooms, I think that might help too. Phew, glad I found a solution since I made a double batch! So excited now for Christmas dinner - lasagnas (one meat and one veggie) and these "meatballs" and sauce. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States