Chef John's Meatless Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My husband said if he didn't watch me make these he would think they were made with meat. And my Vegetarian friend immediately asked for the recipe. They don't take any more time than meat balls. I cooked them in my toaster oven for 10 minutes, turned them and cooked them for 10 more minutes. They were crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
OMG these are soooo good. I have never made vegetarian meatballs before and I am so glad i used this recipe for my first go. My meat-eating family agreed these were so good you didnt even miss the meat. For this particular recipe, i do recommend watching the video before making them. It helped me know how long to cook everything and what to expect. I will absolutely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
As usual, a great recipe from Chef John! I was so happy to have good meatless meatballs with our pasta dinner. I used the food processor to chop the mushrooms and everything came together just fine. After baking I put them in a slow cooker of hot tomato sauce and let them cook for a couple of hours. They held together very well. I will make these again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Made the meatballs ahead as recipe dictated, and added them to homemade sauce and spaghetti noodles. 5/5, homerun. Thank you for a great vegetarian option to a homemade Italian/American classic Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Love this recipe! I'm making it again for xmas dinner. This time I substituted half the mushrooms for lentils to boost up the protein content and the flavor came out just as nice. It's a wonderful vegetarian option to add to the Italian dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki Z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My third time making these! The first go I didn't have time to overnight them in the fridge. The first time they formed nicely. The second and now the third, I had problems. I've discovered that if I start to form the balls right when I take them out of fridge, they crumble and fall apart. Then I discovered that if I let them sit out on the counter and get some of the chill out of them, they form and stick nicely. Next time I think I'll use the food processor rather than hand chop the mushrooms, I think that might help too. Phew, glad I found a solution since I made a double batch! So excited now for Christmas dinner - lasagnas (one meat and one veggie) and these "meatballs" and sauce. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These did not have the consistency of a meatball but the taste was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this and brought it to a party where everyone loved it. The only change I made was that I added fresh basil simply because I had it on hand. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Delicious but takes a while to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I absolutely love this! It was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States