Chef John's Meatless Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I have made these four times now .the last time I did the mushrooms in the food processor which gave them the consistency of fried beef ,perfect for shepards pie or any other recipe that you would use fried meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pictou, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Great recipe. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Hotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
This is a great recipe. Made them for 1 vegetarian and all the meat eaters ate them. I left the mixture overnight and it was delicious and wasn't too hard to make. Then cooked them in my own sauce (Hunt's tomato, some lemon, srirarcha and sugar) and they still worked great. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
My wife loved these and even my daughter said how good they were (although I didnt tell her they were made with mushrooms) and went back for 2nds. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Color me impressed! I was skeptical that these could be as good as the real deal, but I stand corrected. If the mushrooms are chopped finely in the food processor, even the texture is darned close. I suggest processing the mushrooms rather than trying to chop finely enough by hand, which is tedious work. I processed a half pound at a time, and in under 10 seconds of pulsing, they were nice and fine. After making according to the recipe exactly the first time, I made only one small change going forward. Since the object is to try to closely simulate a real meatball in flavor as well as texture, I started with the onion. Instead of adding it to the browned mushrooms, I began by carmelizing the onion in the olive oil.Then I proceded with the recipe as written. This lends one more layer of meaty flavor and gives a nuanced complexity. I'll definitely make spaghetti and these puppies on Lenten Fridays, as well as "meatball" subs. If they come apart when added to the sauce, it's because the mushrooms were not cooked long enough before adding the rest of the ingredients. Cook until dry. Allowing a minimum of one hour for them to simmer in the sauce is necessary for the taste to meld and develop appropriately. The only way anyone would know they're a vegetarian alternative is the appearance, as real meatballs do not tend to be that dark on the inside. One other note, this recipe always yields 24 for me, (using a 2 Tb scoop) not 16, a fact that doesn't bother us at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
These are really great! I will definitely make them again. I don't think they tasted just like regular meatballs, but they are a really great food all on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I made this last night and it did not disappoint! I put the mushrooms and onion in the food processor so they were really finely chopped and it held together just like a regular meatball. I didn't read ahead about refrigerating for 4 hours so mine just stayed in for about 2 hours and it was fine. I did have to cook a little longer than the recommended time, probably about 20 minutes and they could have used another 5 to be nice and crispy, which is how i like my meatballs. Definitely a delicious meatless option that I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
For me, baking the meatless meatballs at 450C was too hot. Next time I will turn down the heat to 425C for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammi Vik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This is an amazing recipe - and everyone loved it first try! Daughter couldn't figure out what kind of meatball it was - just knew I promised it was totally meatless! A real keeper!!! Thank you, Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Nebel Nennig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
These mushroom balls are amazingly delicious with an awesome biting texture. I also super love that it is all made by hand--no food processor needed! I've made this recipe several times and even turned it into a mushroom loaf that was yummy and sliceable for sandwiches. I've tweaked it now and made it with an Asian flair minced bamboo shoots, water chestnuts, onion, ginger, garlic, soy sauce, sesame oil, and a dash of sweet chili sauces. It's in the fridge still but I'm looking forward to them on my rice noodles tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Falafel

Try this crisp, tender, all around yummy recipe for falafel!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States