Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was just wonderful. Included the 2 cloves of garlic. Instead of 10 cups cold water, used 4 cups turkey broth and 2 cups of of water. (added more broth, depending on thickness and taste in the end). I seasoned the wings before roasting with salt pepper and poultry seasoning I did not include extra salt and pepper while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was the best gravy ever. I always panic over the last minute making gravy. This was wonderful to make ahead of time and just heat up day of Thanksgiving. Followed all directions, but used 4 turkey wings and didn't add as much water substituted turkey/chicken soup I already had made, also college Inn turkey broth would be good. But was a pleasure to be stress free day of dinner and not worry my gravy would be too thin or not tasty enough. As everyone else has said you can tweek it to your own liking. 5 STARS. Marie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Simply amazing! I had a 23 lb turkey with huge wings and figured why not try this since we discard the wings anyway. Well, it was the best gravy we ever had! I followed the recipe almost to the letter. The wings were quite large and yielded plenty of fat (5 Tbs) and stock. So much that I used only 2 tbs of butter. The 10 cups of water was perfect…it reduced itself to 6 cups after simmering for the 3 hours just as the recipe said it would. Seeing the assembly process on video was a huge help for us novice gravy makers. Added the flour to the fat and whisked like in the video and wala…it started to look just like Chef Johns! Slowly added the stock and watched the miracle of grave forming right before my very eyes! Thickened it up a bit with a little more simmering, added some salt and pepper, popped in the fridge…DONE! Had to email this link to everyone at the dinner. Can’t thank you enough for this first gravy success I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Everyone loved this when I served it up yesterday with Thanksgiving dinner. I made it the day before, buy only used half the recommended liquid, ending up with a thick pudding-like consistency. When the turkey was done, I pulled out my "gravy pudding" and whisked it with the juices from the turkey - about five cups of it, and then brought it to a simmer. Everyone at dinner commented on the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great!!! I will definitely make this again. It made Thanksgiving so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
OUTSTANDING! WOW! Not only is this replacing my gravy recipe for the holidays that's I've had for many years, I didn't have to make gravy when trying to prepare 8 other dishes for my whole family the day of Thanksgiving. I thought my gravy was the best I've ever had and it is good but this gravy is packed full of delicious flavor and was a big hit. I did use like 4 - 5 large smoked turkey wings and added a little more chicken broth (in place of water) and added some chicken bouillon (Herb*ox my favorite, I just didn't add salt). It reheated wonderfully. I am freezing the rest for Christmas! Thank you Chef John for another absolutely wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Must have done something wrong, 5 hours of terrible. Will try again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
5 Stars: Followed Recipe just as it was listed on the page. It turned out perfectly, thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Westover, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Way too much time for too little payout...I'd rather buy the jarred stuff. It didn't taste like anything special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is the first time I made this gravy. I am so happy with the results! And I don't have to make gravy tomorrow while my guests are here. I did add a turkey leg with the wings. That meat came out excellent as well. Thank you Chef John & happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States