Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
It was twice as much work. Yes it was done ahead of time but everything else was well planned and I had time to make gravy with my turkey juices. I don't think I would do this again. Gravy was ok but the turkey wings I found were not as good as the actual turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne Carson
Home Town: Huntington, Oregon, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I love this gravy, and so does my family. I have made it the last two Thanksgivings and LOVE having this important element of the meal done ahead of time. I can give it the attention it deserves well in advance of the last minute frantic race to the table, and I know ahead of time the gravy will be 'just right'. Thank you Chef John for the recipe, and for making my Thanksgiving easier to manage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Isaak
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We always run out of gravy at Thanksgiving, so I tried this recipe. So glad I did! It makes a delicious, rich gravy. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
We always deep fry our turkey, so pan drippings to make gravy I never have. I have had this recipe 5 years running now an it's the best time savings and tastes better than normal gravy. I use wings and drum sticks to make this amazing gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
The gravy tasted fine, but it's definitely not worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Davenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was a hit. It took some work, especially skimming the fat but it was delicious and everyone agreed that it was better than the 'other' gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
So disappointed. I've never used flour before to thicken gravy, always cornstarch and I think the flour is what ruined it for me. Had to doctor it A LOT. Had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
"Make ahead gravy" made me nervous, but I will turn to this recipe year after year now! Plus, knowing I had enough for a crowd AND leftovers and I didn't have the stress of making ALL the gravy the day of were all pure bonuses. I did use more wings than the recipe called for, which further deepened the flavor. And on the day of, I made a small batch of fresh gravy with drippings and whisked it in. Delicious and recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
love it. recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Takes along time to make but was well worth it! I am going to make a double batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States