Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner. Took the advise of some previous reviews and tweaked the recipe a little. I felt that 10 cups of water was too much for a couple of turkey wings and adjusted to 31/2 cups of water and 3 1/2 cups of canned chicken stock. I added a little celery salt to taste and ended up with a recipe that I will be using every Thanksgiving. What I really loved about this recipe is that I made my gravy on Tuesday, put it in a quart jar and put in the refrigerator, all I did on Thanksgiving was heat it up in a saucepan, saved me a lot of time and work during those last minutes of crunch time. Thanks for a great recipe and great technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Canerdy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flat Rock, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
First, I must say that I don't think make-ahead gravy ever tastes as good as making it from the pan drippings, but it's a tremendous time saver for that time-consuming Thanksgiving meal. Maybe my turkey wings weren't "large" enough, I don't know, but the broth did not have a lot of flavor even though I used a box (quart) of turkey stock as part of the 10 cups of liquid. Something I rarely do when making a recipe is modify it too much first time, but I found it necessary here. I added some Better Than Bouillon Turkey Base, some poultry seasoning, finely chopped wing meat, and some of the roasted veggies which I'd pureed in the blender. It all came together well, and I ended up with a flavorful gravy. I made another recipe last year from this site, but with these modifications, I think this is a better recipe. I have to wonder if 2 turkey wings is enough to flavor 10 cups of water, and in the future, I will use more wings and some necks if I can get them. Don't like changing a recipe this much, but after tasting the gravy, it was necessary. All was good in the end, and this 4-star rating is based on the tweaks I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by jeniferken
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This gravy is amazing. A little time consuming but worth having that extra gravy on Thanksgiving. I ended up with 7 cups of gravy at the end because I used 14 cups of water at the broth-making stage. That's how much it took to completely cover the wings and veg. That's the only change I made. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I'm going to rate Chef John's recipe because it is virtually what I have done every year for many years other than also roast the neck with all the veggies too before simmering them for hours. I agree that two wings would not seem to add enough flavor. I save about 2 cups of my turkey stock for basting my turkey in the oven on the big day and make my gravy a bit thicker so I can pour some the pan drippings into it and into my dressing before placing that dish in the oven. No one would guess my dressing is not cooked in the bird! I don't mind a bit having my gravy done ahead of time, either. Great time saver when you really need it in the last hour trying to get this 'labor of love' meal on the table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This gravy was amazing! It does take some time, but it is well worth it. I followed the recipe to the tee other than adding some fresh rosemary and thyme at the end. One thing to keep in mind is to make sure you cook the flour long enough...I didn't do it the first time and it was wrecked, however I trust Chef John as I have tried many of his recipes and decided to give it another shot. We deep fry our turkey and this is the perfect gravy for us as we don't have the standard drippings. Me and my family all found the gravy to be the best turkey gravy we've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
5 STARS? Yes it's that good!!! takes a lot of time but seriously, I had the best turkey gravy in the middle of October without all the other work. I poured this golden gravy over some wild rice burgers with sauteed mushrooms and hey, best. day. ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I've been doing this for several years but it's not the only gravy for the meal; it's a supplement to the gravy I make when the turkey comes out of the oven. We love hot turkey sandwiches here so need gravy to go a long way. If you're going to use this as your only gravy, you have to either up the turkey wings to four, or cut back on the cold water to about 6 cups in order to achieve a full-flavoured gravy. Downside to reducing the water is that you will end up with much less gravy. And, to the person who commented about frozen gravy being separated upon thawing, simply add a couple of tablespoons of water, heat, and whisk it well to recombine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Hey, Chef John! Thanks! Made this for Thanksgiving & was so pleased. Followed the recipe exactly & liked it BUT then cheated by adding more flour and butter (might sub some corn starch next time). I wanted a thicker 'gravy base' in order for the gravy to be 'just right' when ALL the pan juices were added at dinner time! Made it thicker than I meant to, but the results are worth repeating. Why? I placed just some of the 'gravy base' from this recipe into a medium sized, lined slow cooker a couple hours before dinner. When the turkey came out of the oven & was removed from the pan, the pan juices went into the slow cooker w/the 'gravy base.' After whisking the gravy mixture, it was just the perfect amount of thickness for my taste! If it hadn't been, I'd have had a touch of easy juggling to do: add more 'gravy base' if it was too thin, or add some chicken stock if it was too thick. Easy fixes! Added touch of balsamic & garlic. Later crocked the turkey bones; pulled the bones out in the morning; ran out of time & crocked the broth a whole day more. The next morning after that, added onions, parsnips, carrots - especially carrots O Best Beloved, etc. In the evening, I added the rest of the 'gravy base', whisked it, stirred in some frozen peas�� & heated it through. Finally added a bit of turkey to the pot just before serving (just enough time to warm it through so it wouldn't dry out). Best turkey soup I've ever had. That after making the easiest turkey-day gravy ever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have made ths recipe for years. The only difference is that I use 6 or 8 turkey wings because there isn't much fat on a wing, and I use chicken or turkey broth instead of the water. I also add some white wine as part of the liquid. I usually make the gravy about a month ahead of the holidays because it freezes well. When it comes time use it, I put it in a crockpot, thaw it out and heat it up, saving stove space. It's my favorite gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I just finished making this. Last year I decided to try a new gravy recipe on Thanksgiving and for the first time ever, I had to toss everything and depend on jarred gravy. Not fun and most embarrassing!! Well, it took a few hours, but no rush since Thanksgiving is a couple weeks away. The only thing I changed was used 4 carrots and 4 celery stalks and used 8 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of water per other reviewers. After simmering for the 3 hours, I only ended up with 4 cups of stock, not 6. I just added 2 more cups of water with 2 tsps. of chicken bouillon. It came out smooth as silk and my husband's eyes actually sparkled when he tasted it. He was very impressed and I think it beat every gravy we've made for 31 years of marriage. Hubby said it probably won't last until Thanksgiving. I plan on freezing it and thawing that day to save the craziness trying to make gravy with the entire family watching and waiting for dinner to be ready. I highly recommend trying this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Turkey Gravy

See how to make a super-simple turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States