Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I love this gravy, and so does my family. I have made it the last two Thanksgivings and LOVE having this important element of the meal done ahead of time. I can give it the attention it deserves well in advance of the last minute frantic race to the table, and I know ahead of time the gravy will be 'just right'. Thank you Chef John for the recipe, and for making my Thanksgiving easier to manage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Isaak
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We always run out of gravy at Thanksgiving, so I tried this recipe. So glad I did! It makes a delicious, rich gravy. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
We always deep fry our turkey, so pan drippings to make gravy I never have. I have had this recipe 5 years running now an it's the best time savings and tastes better than normal gravy. I use wings and drum sticks to make this amazing gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
The gravy tasted fine, but it's definitely not worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Davenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was a hit. It took some work, especially skimming the fat but it was delicious and everyone agreed that it was better than the 'other' gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
So disappointed. I've never used flour before to thicken gravy, always cornstarch and I think the flour is what ruined it for me. Had to doctor it A LOT. Had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
"Make ahead gravy" made me nervous, but I will turn to this recipe year after year now! Plus, knowing I had enough for a crowd AND leftovers and I didn't have the stress of making ALL the gravy the day of were all pure bonuses. I did use more wings than the recipe called for, which further deepened the flavor. And on the day of, I made a small batch of fresh gravy with drippings and whisked it in. Delicious and recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
love it. recipe is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Takes along time to make but was well worth it! I am going to make a double batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was just wonderful. Included the 2 cloves of garlic. Instead of 10 cups cold water, used 4 cups turkey broth and 2 cups of of water. (added more broth, depending on thickness and taste in the end). I seasoned the wings before roasting with salt pepper and poultry seasoning I did not include extra salt and pepper while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States