Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
We always run out of gravy at Thanksgiving, so I tried this recipe. So glad I did! It makes a delicious, rich gravy. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
We always deep fry our turkey, so pan drippings to make gravy I never have. I have had this recipe 5 years running now an it's the best time savings and tastes better than normal gravy. I use wings and drum sticks to make this amazing gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
The gravy tasted fine, but it's definitely not worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Davenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was a hit. It took some work, especially skimming the fat but it was delicious and everyone agreed that it was better than the 'other' gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
So disappointed. I've never used flour before to thicken gravy, always cornstarch and I think the flour is what ruined it for me. Had to doctor it A LOT. Had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
"Make ahead gravy" made me nervous, but I will turn to this recipe year after year now! Plus, knowing I had enough for a crowd AND leftovers and I didn't have the stress of making ALL the gravy the day of were all pure bonuses. I did use more wings than the recipe called for, which further deepened the flavor. And on the day of, I made a small batch of fresh gravy with drippings and whisked it in. Delicious and recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
perfect. loved it. shredded the turkey meat and added it to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Takes along time to make but was well worth it! I am going to make a double batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was just wonderful. Included the 2 cloves of garlic. Instead of 10 cups cold water, used 4 cups turkey broth and 2 cups of of water. (added more broth, depending on thickness and taste in the end). I seasoned the wings before roasting with salt pepper and poultry seasoning I did not include extra salt and pepper while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was the best gravy ever. I always panic over the last minute making gravy. This was wonderful to make ahead of time and just heat up day of Thanksgiving. Followed all directions, but used 4 turkey wings and didn't add as much water substituted turkey/chicken soup I already had made, also college Inn turkey broth would be good. But was a pleasure to be stress free day of dinner and not worry my gravy would be too thin or not tasty enough. As everyone else has said you can tweek it to your own liking. 5 STARS. Marie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States