Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent recipe, similar to an old one i used to make but Chef Johns is smoother, mine would come out a bit more chewy. So far, Chef John has been my primary source of recipes off of this site and not even intentionally, i look up chicken parmigiana, it a recipe by the Chef, homestyle mac, Chef John, excellent recipe, excellent chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adi Ibrahimovic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This recipe has replaced my long standing (15 years+) mac and cheese recipe as my base for mac and cheese creations. Fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter Fuller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess M.
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Amazing! This is my first swing at Mac and cheese and I think I started in the right place. It was soooo yummy. Only thing I would change is a bit more cheese in the sauce instead if on top, and not as much bread crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was really great, I doubled the recipe since it said it only served 6. I brought this to a wing-night party and everybody loved it. The nutmeg gives it an interesting flavor from left field that's really quite satisfying. I also doubled the topping and used about 125% of the cheese required. Excellent! BTW - doubling the recipe (2x boxes of elbows) yielded 2 very full 9x11's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Wilkinson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I made this as a covered dish I took to visit friends from out-of-town who were visiting a campground near my home. I had ingredients to make my "own" version but wanted to make something a little more impressive, and this sure did the trick! I don't like spicy stuff so I eliminated the cayenne pepper and had to make my own breadcrumbs (baked 3 big slices of italian bread in the oven then crumbled them up in a Ziploc baggie) for the crumbly top. The thyme and pinch of nutmeg as well as the Dijon mustard was so subtle but really made the dish a gourmet version of what I usually make. Also used small shells since I was out of elbow mac and didn't have time to go to the store; still came out GREAT! Thanks, John. This is my new go-to Mac-n-Cheese recipe from now on. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie H Charron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Made this for a barbecue and got rave reviews on it. It was relatively easy for a more intense mac and cheese. Used fresh thyme from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The BEST mac 'n cheese recipe out there - and I've tried many! As suggested by other reviewers, I substituted sage for the thyme, doubled the breadcrumbs, and added a cup of shredded gruyere. My husband and father-in-law both say this is the best mac 'n cheese they're ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I decided I was going to use 12 ounces of macaroni with this dish and then decided to halve it, so I used 6 ounces. I used a combination of mild cheddar, muenster and colby jack cheeses. I made the full amount of panko topping and it fit in 5 small ramekins and everyone got their own topping....it turned out superb! I cooked them until the top was golden and crisp about 13 minutes. I am not a fan of the thyme in here. I like thyme. I like it a lot actually but I don't particularly care for it in my mac and cheese but it was worth a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Wow! Absolutely wonderful. Very time intensive for a mac and cheese recipe but the results were great. MUCH better straight out of the oven than the next day though (although that is true with all mac and cheese I think). I could have skipped the bread crumbs and still liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I prepared this dish exactly as written and although the flavor was good, we found it to be very dry. We like our Mac N Cheese to be cheesy and creamy. I now make it with the original measurements for the sauce but only 1/2 the amount of pasta and it's perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States