Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I love Chef John's recipes--this is the only one that I think deserves less than a five-star rating. Perhaps I did something wrong! It just didn't strike me as a delicious dish. Mine turned out a little bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
loved it but it needs meat. ham of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I care for 3 seniors full time. I always make them fresh from scratch recipes. This Mac and cheese recipe is one of there favorites! I serve it as a main or side dish! Thank you Chef John, I make everything you post! Love your pallet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJ Vixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This REALLY was an amazing Mac & Cheese dish. Everyone loved it. I took Chef John's suggestion, and split the difference and used about 12 oz, I like mine a little cheesier so I thought 16 oz would be too much. The best part was the Panko crumb top. It was great. This is now my "go to" mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
It was a bit too dry for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This was so good I couldn't stop eating. I'm afraid to make it again! maybe I'll just have to save this for company...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Too dry and too much thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
It was very easy and delicious! I think it would do without the thyme as it was fairly strong (in my opinion). It wasn't too cheesy. It was just right :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is a great tasting, easy recipe for mac and cheese. I made this on Christmas day when I was having friends over and a lot of last minute cleaning. I simply made it and put it in the crockpot for the baking portion and it was ready to go with the ham in about 4 hours. I just sprinkled on some breadcrumbs and cheese to make it "pretty." I go between this recipe and another recipe from this site to keep my macaroni loving husband happy. Thanks for a quick, easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ucfcooker
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Great recipe! I used half smoked Gouda, half sharp cheddar, and added parmegano reggiano. Turned out awesome.Yes, its a little expensive for mac and cheese, but if you want cheap mac and cheese then use velveeta or kraft box mac and cheese. Second, if you think it was too dry and not creamy enough, use less pasta. In the video he mentions that it'll be more dry if you use 16 ounces of pasta. I used 8 and it was almost too creamy. Thanks Chef John! Your stuff is always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States