Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I did not like the cayenne pepper & the thyme was too strong. I would not make it again:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Tracy Deet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Really good. I added some diced chicken, broccoli, cauliflower and peas which blended in beautifully. Increased the cheese sauce by 1/3 to compensate. Perfectly creamy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Hmmm.. this was surprisingly BLAND as heck. I followed directions exactly. The roux was gritty as well.. probably my fault, but even so - lacking flavor. It just bums me out because it LOOKED so good. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I liked it, my 7 year old did not. This is definitely not like "blue box" and has excellent flavor - the cayenne adds depth, not heat. I followed the recipe exactly and I think it could have baked a bit longer. My other advice would be to let the dish rest and cool a bit before serving - the sauce texture improves significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Easy to make. Tastes amazing!! An instant family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I was running out of lunch food and looking for a mac 'n cheese recipe with ingredients I had on hand. This was excellent! I didn't have any Panko bread crumbs or even saltines to put on top so didn't even make the topping. I didn't have cheddar cheese so had to use a mixture of Colby and Swiss. I didn't have white pepper so used black pepper instead. It was still good! I am excited to try it next time with all the correct ingredients and I think the topping will make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by learning2cook7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This is a wonderful recipe. I made two seperate batches for Thanksgiving; one with and one without the cayenne pepper. Both went over extremely well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I liked this very much, as did my family. I did not have panko crumbs, as they are not available where we live but used a Corn Flake like cereal instead. It worked great! Will hopefully be making again soon. Also, I used more of a corkscrew style noodle, not sure of it's official name, but it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Really great! I had to take out the cayenne and white pepper because my family doesn't like that much spice. But the sauce was great and I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States