Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Best Mac and Cheese I've ever had. I didn't put the extra cheese and breadcrumbs on top because I forgot to save some of the cheese and didn't want to put just breadcrumbs. My whole family loved it so I will make it this way always. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Great recipe! Predictable results, comes out great every time. I like a little more kick so I put closer to 3/8 tsp of cayenne and a generous squirt of Dijon. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Had better (much better) but I've also had worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
My family didn't like this at all. I think it was the nutmeg n lack of American cheese. Nutmeg is such a distinct flavor that I'm reluctant to use it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Best Mac & Cheese I've had …although hesitant with the spices, that is what made it delicious!!!! Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Best Mac n cheese ever. Only recipe I use. Thank you chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Schroeder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
The mac n cheese turned out great! My hubby and son loved it and no left over. I left out bread crumbs and dijon mustard and it still turn out yummy! Thank you Chef John! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rasheedah Goh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly. It's by far the best, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Bernhardt Zigo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pedricktown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Lovely mac and cheese. I felt a bit unsure about using the 5 year old Balderson Cheddar I had in the fridge on such a humble comfort food but it was to die for. If you found the recipe bland you should probably use better, snappier cheese. I made a bit more topping than the recipe calls for and did not regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather Floyd
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
It was awesome!!! I've made it twice for my family. The second time I left out the nutmeg because we aren't fans of it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Floyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States