Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was very good. My only issue is that I'd first changed the serving size, and didn't realize that the directions applied to the original serving size (even though the warning was on the recipe). Hey, I have chemo brain + I was rushed to make it. Anywho, had I made this perfectly, it would have been amazing (the cheese wouldn't have been sticky and gooey). I would make this again, albeit correctly, and I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
My husband is very critical when it comes to 'comfort foods', especially mac & cheese; it has to meet certain standards for him to consider it a keeper; this one is definitely a keeper!! The cheesiness and seasonings were perfect!! The only change I would make is to cook the macaroni a bit less; it was a little soft for my liking. I also added a kielbasa, cut in bite size pieces, for a complete meal; spam or boiled ham pieces would be good too!! Great recipe; thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer_Stolle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Emmett, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Loved It. Prepared exactly as directed. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BG Smooth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Had to add to it as was too dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
this was just okay. wasn't creamy like i expected, and didn't taste very cheesy, even though I used way more cheese than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Burgess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes. Nothing ever comes out quite as delicious as this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Despite my skepticism about adding nutmeg and thyme, this recipes tops the mac and cheese that I was raised on (don't tell Mom)--one of my top favs from her kitchen! Creamy, cheesy, rich, but not too rich, with a crust topping that takes it right over the edge. I followed the recipe EXACTLY, but turned on the broiler at 20 minutes to quicken the browning. Absolutely incredible. I won't be missing the gym this week, or next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Its pretty perfect Mac n cheese that is delicious and has balanced flavours. Unlike other recipes that have over killing amount of cheeses and butter dishes, this one is just simply perfect. It was a hit at my ThanksGiving Lunch. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This is a very good recipe for mac and cheese. The one I make is very similar the only difference is I do not use the cayenne or worstershire sauce or thyme. Substitute those ingredients with powdered mustard, seasoning salt, pepper and sour cream gives it great flavor and makes it creamier. I have not tried the panko crumbs yet but I will make that my goal the next time prepare this dish .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cwilcox6539

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Delicious! Have had it several times by exact recipe but this last time I doubled the breadcrumb and butter mixture and added seasoning salt and I subbed out 1 cup of cheese for 8ounces of velveta. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States