Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is a great tasting, easy recipe for mac and cheese. I made this on Christmas day when I was having friends over and a lot of last minute cleaning. I simply made it and put it in the crockpot for the baking portion and it was ready to go with the ham in about 4 hours. I just sprinkled on some breadcrumbs and cheese t make it "pretty." I go between this recipe and another recipe from this site to keep my macaroni loving husband happy. Thanks for a quick, easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ucfcooker
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Great recipe! For those that thought it was bland, USE BETTER CHEESE. Of course if you use all American or all regular Publix cheddar it'll taste bland. I used half smoked Gouda, half sharp cheddar, and added parmegano reggiano. Turned out awesome.Yes, its a little expensive for mac and cheese, but if you want cheap mac and cheese then use velveeta or kraft box mac and cheese. Second, if you think it was too dry and not creamy enough, use less pasta. In the video he mentions that it'll be more dry if you use 16 ounces of pasta. I used 8 and it was almost too creamy. Thanks Chef John! Your stuff is always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I made this recipe and added Ground 2 Table's Spice Blend 2 Spicy All Purpose seasoning instead of the spices and it took it to the next level!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina Falcione

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I enjoyed the different seasonings however, I felt it needed more sauce so it wasn't so dry in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is pretty close to perfect and I am a very fussy old lady. Thanks Chef John. I used a bit of extra cheese too that I had in the fridge and I didn't want to lose it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
A team of 18 gobbled it up..I thought it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Very good. Loved the crumb top. Missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This dish was much too bland. I made everything to the T and it did not have the flavors I was hoping for. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This is by far THE BEST macaroni and cheese recipe that I have ever found. I used 12 oz of elbow macaroni and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. The spices made the dish and my vegetarian daughter LOVES this mac and cheese. I have made it 3 times in a week and a half and this last time I doubled the batch to meet my daughter's demand :) Even when the dish is reheated, there is enough cheese sauce to keep the macaroni moist and not dry. Thank you, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I did not like the cayenne pepper & the thyme was too strong. I would not make it again:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Tracy Deet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States