Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I'm going to preface this by saying I've never had lemon curd so I don't know if this is normal but This came out VERY sweet! As it was my first time making this or any other lemon curd I resisted the urge to reduce or replace any of the sugar in the recipe and made it as written. It turned out a lovely consistency and was nice and lemon-y just too sweet.Got four stars because i am unaware if that's how it should be and because I would try again with much less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
It tastes really good and easy to make! But mine is more yellow colored and looks less creamy. I could not get the curd to turn pale no matte how long it was cooked. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I have never made lemon curd before, but now I make it a lot! So easy and delicious. Last year had a load of lemons and froze the juice in ice trays. I'm making this now with fresh juice from freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fordoche, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Smooth,lemony rich flavor with the right amount of tartness. Found so many uses. Perfect Easter desert starters. SRS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharee Sifferath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I loved it. It has lots of flavor without being overpowering. I made the tarts from puffed pastry like his other recipe and it turned out really good too. I love the light and airy texture. I tried adding some cool whip to get a lighter lemon flavor and it was a hit as well. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I had lost my favorite lemon curd recipe. This is pretty much it. Glad I found it. Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Francis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I just made this lemon curd and it turned out scrumptious! Cooling now in the frig! Lots of lemony tartness and so pretty! Mine was a lot more yellow, but I used fresh country eggs from my neighbor. Beautiful dark yellow yolks. I've been wanting to make this a long time and decided today was the day as I was afraid my bag of lemons would ruin before I could use them all. BTW, it took 4 lemons to make 2/3 cup of juice. Thought it might help others to know how many lemons to start with. Guess it also depends on how big they are, etc. Hope this helps! MAKE this recipe! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
First of all, I'd never had lemon curd before. Truth be told, up until a couple of years ago, I was a lemon dessert hater; ever since I first tasted lemon meringue pie that my grandmother just loved... Anyhow, this recipe and and the method is flawless. No need to mix the butter with the lemon eggs and sugar in a mixer first as I read else where. I used lime instead of lemon (a little less than 1/2 cup fresh squeezed key lime juice) and added a little water (too much actually, instead of 2/3 cup liquid I accidentally used 3/4 cup liquid). Anyhow this worked perfectly, and this is coming from someone who likes to cook, but had never made lemon curd or hollandaise (sp) sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Chef John's Salmon Mango Bango

See how to make pan-seared salmon with a simple, semi-spicy mango relish.

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States