Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This is definitely the best lemon bar (square) I have ever tasted! I like to add 1/4 teaspoon baking powder to both the crust and the filling. It will help to get those tall, chewy bars (squares). I love how Chef John gives us those excellent tips, such as beating the filling for 2 minutes, and wetting the knife before cutting the bars. Just follow the recipe exactly, and you will get your prize-winning lemon bars (I mean, lemon SQUARES!). Expect lots of complements!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This recipe is almost like the one I've made for many years with three exceptions: no vanilla in the crust, only two eggs, and baking soda in the custard. I have to say that I really like how this version turned out and will replace my old recipe with this one. I did double it because I have to gift at least half of it to someone else, and I knew my family would be very sad if they didn't get any. I wish I had a kitchen torch so I could have tried the meringue option! (I do not need another kitchen tool!) Thanks, Chef John, for another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I have made many lemon bars in my time. For some reason this one is the best. The crust is flaky like my English grandma's tarts and pies. The custard filling delicious and slightly tart. I might add a bit more zest next time to make it even more spunky. This one is replacing all my other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LauraJean
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
My favorite dessert is lemon meringue pie, so when I saw this quick and easy treat that could possibly give me my lemon fix without all the work of a pie, I was all over it! I actually had my 3 and 4 year olds make this all by themselves. (I just scooped the ingredients for them, they poured them in and mixed them and I baked it). These are super yummy and very lemony. You MUST use fresh lemon to get the real lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraJean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Thanks, Chef John! Oh boy, these are goooood. I've made some pretty good lemon bars in my life, but hubby and I both agree these are the best. The filling is very lemony, with a perfect balance of tartness and sweet. It set up wonderfully. I'm not 100% sold on the crust, as I tend to prefer one a bit more substantial and firm, but that is simply my preference. This crust is excellent, as long as you are aware it is more flaky than firm. Two comments, though, and both on the crust. I'd suggest mixing the salt with the flour first, then adding the butter. I also had a hard time with the finger-wetting bit. The crust kept sticking to my hands. I gave up and dusted my fingers with flour, instead. MUCH easier. EDIT 2/9/14: I made the bars yet again (I've lost count how many times now) and changed the crust a little. Same ingredients, but mixed the dry ingredients in a food processor. Pulsed in CHILLED butter cut into pieces (like pastry crust), then lightly pressed it all into the pan. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Fantastic. For one thing, the timing instructions were dead on for both the crust and final product, which is rare in a baking recipe. One more minute would have been too long. The crust makes these lemon bars stand out. This crust has to be handled like a pie crust. If you follow the instructions and don't over work the dough, and very gently press it into the pan (I barely wet my fingers), you will get a delicious, flaky crust. Too much mixing or too firm of pressing will make it more dense. I do not have a good zester, so I used only 1/4 tsp of zest and it was plenty lemony. Final note--I used organic eggs, which tend to have an orange color as eggs are actually supposed to. I was worried that the custard would look too orange as it was quite orange pre-baking, but it turned out bright yellow after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I craved lemon bars my entire pregnancy and the day i finally made this recipe...i went into labor! Im not saying these bars are magic, but im not saying these bars arent magic either. Either way they are the best lemon bars i have ever tasted and i was thrilled to have some left when i came home from the hospital.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made these great lemon bars thank you Chef John! I did make one small change that turned out wonderful. I swapped out the butter in the shortbread crust for cocoanut oil in it's solid form. The taste of cocoanut with lemon was to die for! I have a friend who said she was wondering "if I would ever find a lemon bar I could enjoy... this is a keeper!" Thanks again Chef John and All recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
These lemon bars are incredibly delicious and borderline addictive. With these lemon bars being one of Chef John’s all time favorite cookies, he has honed this recipe to perfection. Bravo, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
The flavor of these bars is excellent, and I love that they filled my kitchen with the aroma of lemon pie as they were baking. However, the baking times listed were much too long for my oven. The crust was ready in just 10 minutes, and the custard layer in about 18. I never had the thin, white crust on top as the recipe describes; my custard got light brown and bubbly. The powdered sugar did a fine job of hiding the bubbly, ugly top. The crust stuck horribly to my non-stick pan (I did, indeed, oil it first), so be liberal with the oil or cooking spray. I'll definitely keep practicing with this recipe until I get it right for my oven and equipment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarbutt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States