Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I loved the lemon flavor.. I did add some exrra lemon juice.. but there was far too much chortbread for my taste.. that part went to the birds..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
In a word? "Awesome"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made these tonight- first time making lemon bars but I love Chef John so I knew these would be excellent! The crust was fantastic and came out perfectly, as did the filling. I love, love, love these! Didn't change a thing, perfect as is. Really impressive! ! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Easy and delicious. Didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made these great lemon bars thank you Chef John! I did make one small change that turned out wonderful. I swapped out the butter in the shortbread crust for cocoanut oil in it's solid form. The taste of cocoanut with lemon was to die for! I have a friend who said she was wondering "if I would ever find a lemon bar I could enjoy... this is a keeper!" Thanks again Chef John and All recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ohbaby76
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Oh so yummy! Perfect just the way it is. I loved the flakiness of the crust. Next time I will double the crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was the first time I made lemon bars. And this is the only recipe I will ever need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preeti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
The flavor of these bars is excellent, and I love that they filled my kitchen with the aroma of lemon pie as they were baking. However, the baking times listed were much too long for my oven. The crust was ready in just 10 minutes, and the custard layer in about 18. I never had the thin, white crust on top as the recipe describes; my custard got light brown and bubbly. The powdered sugar did a fine job of hiding the bubbly, ugly top. The crust stuck horribly to my non-stick pan (I did, indeed, oil it first), so be liberal with the oil or cooking spray. I'll definitely keep practicing with this recipe until I get it right for my oven and equipment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarbutt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
OMG these are so good! My husband said these were the best he's ever had, and they were super easy! I doubled the recipe, using 2 8x8 dishes and just tried to get as close to halving it between the 2 dishes as I could. Worked great! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
These are delish! The cooking time, for ME, was way off on the crust. I checked it at 12 min. & it was brown around the edges. Glad I just happened to check it before it was burnt. The filling cook time seemed to be spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States