Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I made this recipe last night and at first i was a little worried about the dough but in the end it was great. After cooking all of it i put in the refrigerator over night and it was awesome!!!! Ijust cut into it and i have a family of 6 and only 3 peices are left i love this recipe!!!!!! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mflo
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
These were great! Had to take them to work and share with co-workers so I wouldn't eat them all myself, everyone at work loved them. Perfect balance of sweetness and tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was a BIG hit at our house. The crust was flaky yet sturdy enough to hold up the filling. The filling sets up fairly firm. Holds together very well as finger foods. My youngest is a lemon square fanatic and she just couldn't get enough of these. These are excellent for company fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
These are awesome!!!Loved these!! Need to make them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
These are sooooo good. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. Next time I will have to double the recipe since they go so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I love anything lemon. These are great. I have also changed the recipe for raspberry bars. Instead of lemon juice use 1\4 cup chambord and about 1/2 cup of raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
These lemon bars are fantastic! I have made a couple of changes to the process of making them though. I have a really hard time with trying to mash the butter with the flour, so I cut cold butter into the flour with a pastry blender instead, and when I have a crumbly texture I add the other crust ingredients and I work the dough with my hands until I have the slightly crumbly cookie dough texture. I have found the baking times to be too long. I bake the crust for about 18 minutes and then the whole bar for 20-22 minutes. I have baked these using convection and not, and I find the regular setting is actually better. The other change I usually make is to double the recipe and bake in a 9x13 baking dish because they are so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I've never been a fan of citrusy fruits, especially lemons. I'm not very tolerant of sour foods, but in effort to recover from a terrible cold, I had a bag full of lemons in my fridge I didn't quite know what to do with the overwhelming amount, so I gave this a go. DELICIOUS! To help dissipate some of the sourness of the lemon custard layer, I doubled the shortbread cookie dough and made a thick blanket of sweeter crust. Worked like a CHARM. The tartness of the lemon layer was agreeable and complimented the thick rich crust all too perfectly. It's too bad it took a mutant flu to get me to open my taste palette to the wonderful and refreshing world of lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Best lemon bars I've ever made and possibly ever eaten! My husband doesn't care for lemon bars, and he couldn't get enough of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States