Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Yes!! 100% delicious!!! I love al his recipes!! When I'm going to make something new( or old,) I always look for his recipes, and 99.9% of the time I use his.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
These were fantastic and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
One of my all-time favorite bake sale goodies, just never checked out recipes before. For this Thanksgiving, decided to Google 5-star lemon bar recipes and Chef Johns had the most favorable reviews. Wow.....awesomely easy! Only needed to buy lemons. Doubled recipe for 9x13 and increased 1/4 to 1/3 lemon juice. That's it....perfect 1st time around and family loved them. Even I couldn't believe I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Becerra
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have a lemon tree in my yard so I've had to search for as many delicious ways to use them as possible. This recipe is one of my favorites. Normally, I'm not a fan of lemony desserts but I decided to give this one a try because I have hundreds of lemons and my boyfriend also loves lemon bars. Once I made this, I was hooked! Absolutely perfect combo of the lemon and crust. I'm a huge crust lover so I did increase the crust by a third to make it a bit thicker but other than that there are no complaints. Very fresh and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Becerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This was my first time making lemon bars and they turned out perfect! The instructions were very easy to follow and explained how everything would look exactly. 1 reviewer said he added 1/4 teaspoon of baking soda to the crust and filling. I made two batches so i tried it both ways and both ways turned out great. One was slightly puffier and taller while the other was thinner and dense. It just depends on how you like them but you cannot go wrong with this recipe! Pay attention to the color of the edge to make sure you don't overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
LOVE Chef John's recipes! Best Lemon Bars I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Wow, these are amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Overall tasty lemon square. Make sure not to over bake the lemon top; the timing in the recipe is perfect! However my crust was slightly undercooked. Next time I will add an extra minute or so to bake the crust but will definitely be trying this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taybecookn
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Loved this recipe!! My top favorite dessert are lemon bars and this recipe was my first homemade version! I followed recipe exactly! Only thing I did different was doubled the crust because I love a thick cookie underneath the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Whyte
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This recipe was wonderful! It is like Lemon Meringue Pie but with half the hassle. One thing I did to make baking a bit easier was instead greasing the baking pan I just lined it with wax paper. It just slid right out and was much easier to slice. Ensure to watch both crust and filling when baked as the times are subject to change (crust: 18 mins, custard: 20 mins).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whyte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States