Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
These are sooooo good. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. Next time I will have to double the recipe since they go so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I love anything lemon. These are great. I have also changed the recipe for raspberry bars. Instead of lemon juice use 1\4 cup chambord and about 1/2 cup of raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
These lemon bars are fantastic! I have made a couple of changes to the process of making them though. I have a really hard time with trying to mash the butter with the flour, so I cut cold butter into the flour with a pastry blender instead, and when I have a crumbly texture I add the other crust ingredients and I work the dough with my hands until I have the slightly crumbly cookie dough texture. I have found the baking times to be too long. I bake the crust for about 18 minutes and then the whole bar for 20-22 minutes. I have baked these using convection and not, and I find the regular setting is actually better. The other change I usually make is to double the recipe and bake in a 9x13 baking dish because they are so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I've never been a fan of citrusy fruits, especially lemons. I'm not very tolerant of sour foods, but in effort to recover from a terrible cold, I had a bag full of lemons in my fridge I didn't quite know what to do with the overwhelming amount, so I gave this a go. DELICIOUS! To help dissipate some of the sourness of the lemon custard layer, I doubled the shortbread cookie dough and made a thick blanket of sweeter crust. Worked like a CHARM. The tartness of the lemon layer was agreeable and complimented the thick rich crust all too perfectly. It's too bad it took a mutant flu to get me to open my taste palette to the wonderful and refreshing world of lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Best lemon bars I've ever made and possibly ever eaten! My husband doesn't care for lemon bars, and he couldn't get enough of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I can't stop thinking of these. They are perfection. Tart, buttery, crunchy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Had some lemon juice in my frig I had to use up before it expired, so found this recipe. I doubled the recipe & put into a 9x13 pan. I didn't have any lemon zest, so put in two extra tbls of lemon juice. Tasted awesome, but came out of the pan very crumbly & hard to get all of the crust out entirely. If not for that fact, would have given these 5 stars based upon their taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Very delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I was given fresh tree-ripened lemons from Florida and wanted to make something that "popped" lemon. This recipe is perfect in every way - down to the timing of the crust and filling. WOW!!!! I did not alter this recipe in anyway as I have a tendency to do! Kudos to you, Chef John. This is a definite repeat and recipe-keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States